Sweet Dreams: Her Complete Decca Masters (1960-1963)

Sweet Dreams: Her Complete Decca Masters (1960-1963)

by Patsy Cline

CD(Remastered / Special Edition)

$25.64 $29.99 Save 15% Current price is $25.64, Original price is $29.99. You Save 15%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, July 22


Hip-O Select's 2010 double-disc set Sweet Dreams: The Complete Decca Masters (1960-1963) gathers all of the 51 master takes Patsy Cline recorded with Owen Bradley after she left 4 Star Records for Decca in 1960, running right until her tragic death in 1963. This is the first time all these master takes have been issued in a complete set, which is hard to believe because they form the core of Cline's legacy. Patsy had been recording frequently since 1954 when she first signed a deal with 4 Star, but the label's president, Bill McCall, insisted that she only recorded songs for which he owned the publishing rights, a restrictive deal that resulted in only one hit, the classic career-making "Walkin' After Midnight." This was a fluke not due to Cline's talent, but to the dross she had at 4-Star, material that couldn't be saved even with her increasing partnership with producer Owen Bradley. Once at Decca, Cline continued to work with Bradley and the pair soon hit upon what became Cline's signature sound: a lush, gorgeous, string-laden setting, equally indebted to Nashville and classic big-band pop, one that pushed her supple vocals to the forefront. It was a sound that wasn't classically country, at least in the honky tonk sense, but it pushed country closer to pop, providing the blueprint for generations of crossover country singers. This lasting legacy gives the impression that Cline was more popular -- and recorded more music -- during her prime than she actually was, when she really had about two years of popularity, highlighted by the singles "Crazy," "I Fall to Pieces," "She's Got You," and "Sweet Dreams (Of You)." All these are here, along with a 1961 remake of "Walkin' After Midnight," sitting alongside a bunch of big band ("The Wayward Wind," "You Belong to Me," "South of the Border (Down Mexico Way," "Bill Bailey, Won't You Please Come Home") and country standards ("San Antonio Rose," "Blue Moon of Kentucky," "Faded Love," "Crazy Arms"), with the former slightly outweighing the latter, sometimes overshadowing the newer country originals by Harlan Howard, Mel Tillis, and Don Gibson, among others. As a whole, these master takes surprisingly favor the big band over country, paying enough of a debt to her influences (particularly Jo Stafford) to suggest a talent in ascendance, not full-fight, but in away that only makes Cline's legacy resonate more deeply. Given time, she would surely have achieved more, but what she did in the 28 months documented here is create the sound and style of the modern country-pop singer, an achievement that resonates strongly throughout the big-band echoes here.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/20/2010
Label: Hip-O Select
UPC: 0602527273891
catalogNumber: 001379302
Rank: 74937

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Patsy Cline   Primary Artist,Vocals
Floyd Cramer   Organ,Piano
Hank Garland   Electric Guitar
Jordanaires   Background Vocals
Grady Martin   Electric Guitar
Bill Pursell   Organ,Vibes
Martin Katahn   Violin
Ben Keith   Steel Guitar
Byron Bach   Violin,Cello
Brenton Banks   Violin
George Binkley   Violin
Harold Bradley   Electric Bass,6-string Electric Bass
Ray Edenton   Rhythm Guitar
Solie Fott   Violin
Buddy Harman   Drums
Hoyt Hawkins   Background Vocals
Walter Haynes   Steel Guitar
Lillian Hunt   Violin
Millie Kirkham   Background Vocals
Wayne Moss   Electric Bass
Hargus "Pig" Robbins   Piano
Gordon Stoker   Background Vocals
Joe Zinkan   Acoustic Bass
Cecil Brower   Violin,Viola
John Bright   Viola
Howard Carpenter   Violin,Viola
Charlie McCoy   Harmonica
Wilda Tinsley   Violin
Bob Moore   Acoustic Bass
Randy Hughes   Acoustic Guitar
Rita Faye Wilson   Autoharp
Neal Matthews   Background Vocals
Michael Semanitzky   Violin
Gary Williams   Violin
Ed Tarpley   Viola
Nancy Hearn   Violin
Suzanne Parker   Violin
Doug Kirkham   Drums
Verne Richardson   Violin
Mildred Onk   Violin
Grady Martion   Electric Guitar

Technical Credits

Bill Monroe   Composer
Don Gibson   Composer
Skeets McDonald   Composer
Willie Nelson   Composer
Buck Owens   Composer
Mel Tillis   Composer
Floyd Tillman   Composer
Irving Berlin   Composer
Carl Perkins   Composer
Russ Morgan   Composer
Roy Drusky   Composer
Bill Justis   Arranger
Freddie Hart   Composer
Justin Tubb   Composer
Pee Wee King   Composer
Redd Stewart   Composer
Larry Fotine   Composer
Jimmy Kennedy   Composer
Carl Belew   Composer
Henry Bernard   Composer
Marshall Brown   Composer
Hank Cochran   Composer
J. Fred Coots   Composer
Peter DeRose   Composer
Colin Escott   Liner Notes
Bob Hilliard   Composer
Harlan Howard   Composer
Nick Kenny   Composer
Bill McElhiney   Arranger
Andy McKaie   Producer
Ralph Mooney   Composer
Herb Newman   Composer
Mitchell Parish   Composer
Webb Pierce   Composer
Cole Porter   Composer
Velma Smith   Composer
Wynn Stewart   Composer
Wayne Walker   Composer
Marijohn Wilkin   Composer
Hank Williams   Composer
Curley Williams   Composer
Bob Wills and His Texas Playboys   Composer
Milton DeLugg   Composer
Alden Shuman   Composer
Vartan   Art Direction
Danny Dill   Composer
Arnold Johnson   Composer
Leverett   Cover Photo
W.S. Stevenson   Composer
Sammy Masters   Composer
Hoffman   Composer
James V. Monaco   Composer
Chuck Seals   Composer
Carroll Loveday   Composer
Lois Mann   Composer
Earl Shuman   Composer
Kenny Sowder   Composer
Henry Thurston   Composer
Fred Burch   Composer
Morry Burns   Composer
Billy Faber   Composer
Ryan Null   Photo Coordination
Hughie Cannon   Composer
Jimmie Hodges   Composer
Chilton Price   Composer
Fred Meadows   Composer
Jimmy Key   Composer
Charles Kenny   Composer
Andrew Labarrere   Licensing
Helmy Kresa   Composer
Stan Lebowski   Composer
John Kenner   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews