Sweet Soul Music: 1967

Sweet Soul Music: 1967


$19.61 $22.99 Save 15% Current price is $19.61, Original price is $22.99. You Save 15%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, October 22


A sequel of sorts to Bear Family's amazing R&B series Blowin' the Fuse -- which covered the growth of R&B from 1945 to 1960 and its evolution into soul -- the Sweet Soul Music series picks things up from there, and charts the unfolding of soul music in all of its incarnations from 1961 to 1970 through ten wonderfully packaged and assembled sets arranged chronologically and drawing on all of the music's major players, from Motown and Chess to Stax and Atlantic and beyond. It's an impressive achievement in licensing and vision, and each volume features Bear Family's usual care and attention to detail, but what makes it all work, of course, is the music, which is as delightful to hear as it is historically vital. This volume covers the year 1967 and includes classics like Martha & the Vandellas' "Jimmy Mack," Aretha Franklin's "Respect," the Parliaments' "(I Wanna) Testify," Etta James' "Tell Mama," and so much more. Every track shines and reveals new joys by affiliation -- listening to these 30 sides is like time traveling back to a beautiful summer's night and a long drive with the top down. This is what Bear Family does so well, turning out collections of essential music lovingly assembled, remastered, and restored. Sweet is exactly the right word for each of the ten volumes in this series.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/01/2009
Label: Bear Family Germany
UPC: 4000127169723
catalogNumber: 2716972
Rank: 36455

Album Credits

Technical Credits

Lowell Fulson   Composer
Jimmy McCracklin   Composer
Arthur Conley   Composer
Sam Cooke   Composer
Otis Redding   Composer
Joe Tex   Composer
Donald Davis   Composer
Barrett Strong   Composer
Toussaint McCall   Composer
Nick Ashford   Composer
Bert Berns   Composer
Ben Cauley   Composer
Henry Cosby   Composer
Carl Cunningham   Composer
Marcus Daniel   Composer
Lamont Dozier   Composer
John Ellison   Composer
Kenny Gamble   Composer
Isaac Hayes   Composer
Gary Jackson   Composer
Syl Johnson   Composer
Phalon Jones   Composer
Deadric Malone   Composer
David Porter   Composer
Jerry Ragovoy   Composer
Valerie Simpson   Composer
Norman Whitfield   Composer
Stevie Wonder   Composer
James Alexander   Composer
Bill Dahl   Liner Notes
Rodger Collins   Composer
Raynard Miner   Composer
Arlester "Dyke" Christian   Composer
Gilbert Moorer   Composer
Sylvia Moy   Composer
Dave Booth   Reissue Producer,Tape Research,Discographical Information
Richard Poindexter   Composer
Alfred Ellis   Composer
William Sheppard   Composer
Jesse Anderson   Composer
Wolfgang Taubenauer   Photo Scanning
Lula Mae Hardaway   Composer
Wilbur Terrell   Composer
Daron Taylor   Composer
Andreas Merck   Photo Scanning
Patrick Robinson   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews