Tanglewood Tales for Boys and Girls

Tanglewood Tales for Boys and Girls

by Nathaniel Hawthorne


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, August 26


Tanglewood Tales for Boys and Girls (1853) is a book by American author Nathaniel Hawthorne (1804 - 1864). It is a re-writing of well-known Greek myths in a volume for children.
The book includes the myths of:
Theseus and the Minotaur (Chapter : "The Minotaur")
Antaeus and the Pygmies (Chapter: "The Pygmies")
Dragon's Teeth (Chapter: "The Dragon's Teeth")
Circe's Palace (Chapter: "Circe's Palace")
Proserpina, Ceres, Pluto, and the Pomegranate Seed (Chapter: "The Pomegranate Seed")
Jason and the Golden Fleece (Chapter: "The Golden Fleece")
Hawthorne wrote the book while renting a small cottage in the Berkshires, a vacation area for industrialists during the Gilded Age.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781500653637
Publisher: CreateSpace Publishing
Publication date: 07/26/2014
Pages: 158
Product dimensions: 6.14(w) x 9.21(h) x 0.34(d)

About the Author

One of the greatest authors in American literature, Nathaniel Hawthorne (1804-1864) was a novelist and short story writer born in Salem, Massachusetts. Hawthorne’s best-known books include The House of the Seven Gables and The Scarlet Letter, works marked by a psychological depth and moral insight seldom equaled by other writers.

Date of Birth:

July 4, 1804

Date of Death:

May 19, 1864

Place of Birth:

Salem, Massachusetts

Place of Death:

Plymouth, New Hampshire


Bowdoin College, Brunswick, Maine, 1824

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews