Tanglewood Tales - Illustrated by Virginia Frances Sterrett

Tanglewood Tales - Illustrated by Virginia Frances Sterrett


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24


'Tanglewood Tales' is a book written by American author Nathaniel Hawthorne (1804 - 1864), and forms the sequel to 'A Wonder-Book for Girls and Boys'. It is a masterful re-writing of well-known Greek myths, all presented in one volume, for a younger audience. Hawthorne originally penned the work, after a visit from his young friend Eustace Bright, who requested a sequel to the Wonder Book. It contains the myths of 'The Minotaur', 'The Pygmies', 'The Dragon's Teeth' 'Circe's Palace', 'The Pomegranate Seeds' and 'The Golden Fleece'. These classic stories in 'Tanglewood Tales' are accompanied by the truly beautiful illustrations of Virginia Frances Sterrett (1900 - 1931). Presented alongside the text, her illustrations further refine and elucidate Hawthorne's masterful storytelling.

Sterrett was an American artist and illustrator - one of the most talented, though also most tragic, of the 'Golden Age' illustrators. Sterrett's illustrations are delicate yet powerful, inspired by the tradition of Art Nouveaux with its light washes of colour and sinuous black lines. She only completed three works in her lifetime, due to her early death from tuberculosis at the age of thirty-one. These include Old French Fairy Tales (1920), Tanglewood Tales (1921) and Arabian Nights (1928).

This book forms part of our 'Pook Press' imprint, celebrating the golden age of illustration in children's literature - a period of unparalleled excellence in book illustration.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781473332690
Publisher: Pook Press
Publication date: 07/25/2016
Pages: 304
Product dimensions: 7.00(w) x 10.00(h) x 0.83(d)

About the Author

One of the greatest authors in American literature, Nathaniel Hawthorne (1804-1864) was a novelist and short story writer born in Salem, Massachusetts. Hawthorne’s best-known books include The House of the Seven Gables and The Scarlet Letter, works marked by a psychological depth and moral insight seldom equaled by other writers.

Date of Birth:

July 4, 1804

Date of Death:

May 19, 1864

Place of Birth:

Salem, Massachusetts

Place of Death:

Plymouth, New Hampshire


Bowdoin College, Brunswick, Maine, 1824

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews