by Julio Iglesias
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, August 22


Arriving in 1996 after several years of alternating English-language adult contemporary pop albums with contemporary Latin pop albums, Tango was a back to basics move of sorts for Julio Iglesias. Back to basics might be stretching it a little, because Iglesias always was a contemporary pop singer, so this was more of a roots move, finding Iglesias tackling 12 of the most famous tangos, many of which date back to the '30s and '40s, if not earlier. If the production did not exactly sound timeless -- it was a contemporary big-budget recording, so it was very clean and polished -- it nevertheless wasn't nearly as slick as his English language records, and the execution of these tangos modernized these classic songs, bringing them to new audiences. Iglesias responded in kind, giving them some of his most passionate performances in years, and the result was one of the highlights of his '90s work. [In 2006, Tango was reissued by Columbia/Legacy in remastered sound with new liner notes.]

Product Details

Release Date: 08/29/2006
Label: Sbme Special Mkts.
UPC: 0886978803320
catalogNumber: 788033
Rank: 42955


  1. La Cumparsita
  2. El Dia Que Me Quieras
  3. A Media Luz
  4. Volver
  5. Yira...Yira
  6. Mano O Mano
  7. El Choclo
  8. Adios, Pampa Mia
  9. Cambalache
  10. !Uno! . . .
  11. Caminito
  12. Mi Buenos Aires Querido

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews