Tasty + B Sides

Tasty + B Sides

by Plastilina Mosh



Mosaic rock en español duo Plastilina Mosh had a whopping three major-label albums to their name when, in true DJ style, they decided it was time to release the 2006 double-disc compilation Tasty + B Sides. This comes at a time when things have been quiet in the musical scene of all-over-the-map artists like Beck (who discovered the band at Austin's South by Southwest music festival). Fans will find more than table scraps with this release, however, as the first disc includes four new tracks in addition to its 11 previously released ones. The second disc's 14 B-sides could, for all intents and purposes, be considered a new studio album, as the band's frantically eclectic approach is a cohesive theme in and of itself, essentially making it irrelevant that the tracks were not originally recorded as a single record. If it weren't for the group's studio-savvy half, Alejandro Rosso, the record's consecutive and sometimes simultaneous uses of hip-hop, lo-fi, techno, punk, lounge, pop, rock, and Latin would be mush. It would be the coolest mush you'd ever heard, but mush nonetheless. As it stands, Tasty + B Sides is constructed so meticulously that listeners are free to rock out and groove with only select moments of fun, intentional confusion. Despite vocalist Jonas' enviable punk rock yowl and mighty rap delivery, the music that Plastilina Mosh creates on this release doesn't take itself too seriously; quirky lyrics, bouncing rhythms, and moments of endearing cultural self-parody (see "Alo" and "El Sirenito") keep the album approachable. This subtle sense of self-deprecation never becomes a cop-out; it just lets the Mosh boys level with the listener. They know what you're hearing is pretty out there and they're just inviting you along for the ride. ~ Cammila Albertson

Product Details

Release Date: 04/04/2006
UPC: 0094634586825
catalogNumber: 45868

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Plastilina Mosh   Primary Artist
Walter Miranda   Group Member
Bruno Bressa   Drums
Peduardo "Peddy" González   Wurlitzer
Mister Rosales   Saxophone
Milton Pacheco   Group Member
Jason Roberts   Mezcla
Jonaz   Group Member

Technical Credits

Tom Rothrock   Producer
Rob Schnapf   Producer
Chris Allison   Composer
Thomas Cookman   Management
Plastilina Mosh   Composer
Alejandro Rosso   Producer,Engineering
Aldo Chaparro   Art Direction
Thomas Troelsen   Composer,Producer,Engineering
Camilo Lara   Executive Producer
Jason Roberts   Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews