Teen Beach Movie

Teen Beach Movie


$10.12 $10.99 Save 8% Current price is $10.12, Original price is $10.99. You Save 8%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24


Disney's 2013 TV movie Teen Beach Movie tells the tale of a teen couple who are about to go their separate ways, but wipe out while surfing one last wave together and are magically transported back in time and space to end up as a part of a '60s beach movie that one of the teen's dead mother adored. Once there they begin affecting the plot as they interact with the characters and try to get back to reality. The soundtrack for the movie begins in modern times, with a bouncy, very modern-sounding pop song sung by female lead Maia Mitchell, before heading back to the surfy, rocking sounds of the early '60s. The album hits all the era's highlights, copping sounds from the Beach Boys, girl groups, early rock & roll, and surf music, while letting the teenage stars show off their talents. Both Ross Lynch (of Austin & Ally fame) and newcomer Mitchell have really strong voices and put the (sometimes dorky, even for a beach movie homage) lyrics across well, while Grace Phipps gives the girl group-influenced "Falling for Ya" some real yearning soul. Elsewhere there are sweet ballads, good-time rockers (that sound more Grease-inspired than Elvis-inspired), and bopping love songs that move the story along and are also a bunch of fun. There's even a song, "Like Me," that deals with the different approaches to dating taken by teens from the two eras. The record has a slick, modern sheen but the producers pay attention to detail and add all kinds of nice touches that will warm the hearts of old-timers and maybe turn a few kids on to the Beach Boys. Overall, Teen Beach Movie is a fun soundtrack that features a very game and talented cast and has an easygoing charm and sugary niceness that are very hard to dislike.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/16/2013
Label: Walt Disney Records
UPC: 0050087245009
catalogNumber: 001406192
Rank: 43869

Album Credits

Technical Credits

Mitch Allan   Composer,Producer
Antonina Armato   Composer
Nikki Leonti   Composer
Ali "Dee" Theodore   Composer,Producer
Alana Da Fonseca   Composer
Tim James   Composer
Jeannie Lurie   Composer,Producer
Faye Greenberg   Composer,Producer
Jon Vella   Composer
In-Q   Composer
Chen Neeman   Composer,Producer
Jason Evigan   Composer,Producer
Jason C. Miller   Composer
Aris Archontis   Composer,Producer
Jordan Yaeger   Composer
Armatojames   Producer
Garrett Kotecki   Composer
Thomas Sturges   Composer
David Lawrence   Composer,Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews