The 40th Anniversary Tour of the U.K.

The 40th Anniversary Tour of the U.K.

by Dave Brubeck


$9.78 $11.99 Save 18% Current price is $9.78, Original price is $11.99. You Save 18%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, July 25


Forty years after his classic quartet's first triumphant tour of the U.K. in 1958, Dave Brubeck took his then current group back for an anniversary visit, playing a mixed bag of old and new songs for fans both old and new. This time out, Brubeck's working quartet included two British natives, drummer Randy Jones and bassist Alec Dankworth (the son of British jazz superstars Cleo Laine and John Dankworth). Brubeck himself was the obvious draw for the crowds, but it's saxman Bobby Militello who is truly the musical star of the show. The highly regarded Militello shows he can roam across the entire spectrum of alto saxophone tonality, employing a light, delicate tone à la Paul Desmond one minute, then bearing down for some gritty, deep-throated improvisations the next. Brubeck's unmistakable pianism remains as identifiable as ever, comping and soloing with the same energy he undoubtedly had 40 years earlier. "Goodbye Old Friend," his solo farewell to friend Gerry Mulligan, is beautiful. The new material is more interesting than the older stuff, with Brubeck's tango "The Time of Our Madness" and blues-inflected "Oh You Can Run (But You Can't Hide)" particular standouts. However, Militello enlivens even the old warhorse "I Got Rhythm," and Brubeck himself digs fresh ideas out of "Deep Purple."

Product Details

Release Date: 06/22/1999
Label: Telarc
UPC: 0089408344022
catalogNumber: 83440
Rank: 181428

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Dave Brubeck   Primary Artist,Piano
Alec Dankworth   Bass
Bobby Militello   Flute,Alto Saxophone
Randy Jones   Drums

Technical Credits

Dave Brubeck   Liner Notes
Peter DeRose   Composer
Russell Gloyd   Producer
Mitchell Parish   Composer
Jack Renner   Engineer
Robert Woods   Executive Producer
Little Jack Little   Composer
Anilda Carrasquillo   Art Direction
Alyn Shipton   Liner Notes
Joe Young   Composer
John Siras   Composer
Tom Macko   Back Cover,Cover Illustration
Matt Manasse   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews