The Afrosound of Colombia, Vol. 2

The Afrosound of Colombia, Vol. 2


$18.99 $19.99 Save 5% Current price is $18.99, Original price is $19.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25


The deep vaults of Colombia's Discos Fuentes company, the label that coined the term "Afrosound" have been the source of several compilations from Europe in the 21st century: the wonderful original Soundway comp, Colombia! The Golden Age of Discos Fuentes, paved the way in 2007, and Vampi Soul's own previous entry in this particular series in 2010 are only a couple of examples. This set assembles 24 cuts from not only Discos Fuentes, but also its subsidiaries Tropical and Machuca, into a wildly diverse dance party of cumbia and porro and other Caribbean styles. There are some absolutely killer tracks here: check "Juana Rosa Manzano," a porro by the legendary Los Corraleros de Majagual (founded in 1962 and one of two selections here). This is where cumbia and Caribbean textures entwine in a feverish frenzy. Opener "Pachanga Miramar," by Sexteto Miramar, is another; its porro is balanced tightly by swaggering funky horns atop cowbell, electric guitars, claves, flutes, and congas. Lisandro Mezal's solo track (he's the accordionist in Los Corraleros de Majagual), "Juventud Flaca y Loca," melds salsa, cumbia, and porro. Michi Sarmiento y Su Combo Bravo (the subject of their own disc on Soundway) delivers a bleeding meld of cumbia and jazzy descarga on "Calentia." Afrosound's "Banana de Queso" is pure psychedelic porro, while La Integracion's "Caimán y Gallinazo" is a burning, brassy cumbia. Every track on The Afrosound of Colombia, Vol. 2 is notated with proper discographical info, but that's of secondary importance to everyone but collectors. The curators have delivered the maximum groove quotient for the dollar. Combined with its predecessor it whets the appetite for even more discoveries from Discos Fuentes.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/25/2014
Label: Vampisoul
UPC: 8435008862848
catalogNumber: 156
Rank: 65655

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Joe Arroyo   Vocals
Rodolfo Aicardi   Vocals
Joe Rodríguez   Vocals
Tony Zuniga   Vocals
Wilson Manyoma   Vocals
Chico Cervantes   Vocals
Lucho Pérez   Vocals
Piper Pimienta Diaz   Vocals
Johnny More   Vocals
Nacho Paredes   Vocals
Lina Rossi   Vocals
Lizandro Meza   Vocals
Alvaro Jose Arroyo Gonzalez   Vocals
Tita Duval   Vocals
Markkitos Micolta   Vocals
Manuel Cassini   Vocals
John Jairo Murillo   Vocals
Vicente Villa   Vocals
Humberto Muriel   Vocals

Technical Credits

Robin Gibb   Composer
Gabriel Romero   Composer
Joe Arroyo   Composer
Barry Gibb   Composer
Maurice Gibb   Composer
Oscar Hernandez   Composer
Domingo Lopez   Composer
Rafael Padilla   Composer
José Barros   Composer
Javier García   Composer
Pablo Yglesias   Liner Notes,Art Direction,Layout
Tony Zuniga   Composer
Climaco Sarmiento   Composer
Luis Perez Cedron   Composer
Mike Char   Composer
Adolfo Echeverria   Composer
Julio Ernesto Estrada   Composer
Alfredo Varela   Composer
Luis Carlos Montoya   Composer
Eusebio Gomez   Composer
Lizandro Meza   Composer
Roberto Rey   Composer
Marco Micolta   Composer
Dario Restrepo   Composer
Guy Conquette   Composer
Demetrio Guarín   Composer
Daudet Cantillo   Composer
CS Fossett   Illustrations
Blas Sarmiento   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews