The Berlin Session

The Berlin Session

by Johnny Griffin


$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, September 23


Six of the eight tracks on this disc that lists tenor giant Johnny Griffin and Swedish trumpeter Rolf Ericson as leaders was recorded over two days in May of 1978 -- a great period creatively for Griffin. The other players on the date are pianist Fritz Pauer, bassist Lucas Lindholm, and drummer Ronnie Stephenson. The program consists of originals such as Ericson's smoking "Double Digit" and the elegant "Fragrance," and some fine covers including a solid reading of Bud Powell's "Oblivion." The final two tracks on this set were recorded a few months later with Griffin leading an entirely different band that included pianist Stanley Cowell, drummer Roy Haynes, and bassist Cecil McBee. Both cuts are excellent readings of the jazz standards "Billie's Bounce" and "Smoke Gets in Your Eyes." All of this material has been available before on separate LP compilations, but the Jazz Lips imprint assembled the entire Griffin/Ericson session here for the first time on CD This disc features very fine straight-ahead blowing throughout.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/02/2010
Label: Jazz Lips
UPC: 8436028691869
catalogNumber: 2869186
Rank: 229765

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Johnny Griffin   Primary Artist,Tenor Saxophone,Interviewee
Stanley Cowell   Piano
Cecil McBee   Bass
Rolf Ericson   Trumpet
Roy Haynes   Drums
Lucas Lindholm   Bass
Fritz Pauer   Piano
Ronnie Stephenson   Drums

Technical Credits

Carmell Jones   Arranger
Bud Powell   Composer
Jerome Kern   Composer
Rolf Ericson   Arranger,Composer
Otto Harbach   Composer
Charlie Parker   Composer
Fritz Pauer   Arranger,Composer
Heinz Von Hermann   Arranger,Composer
Margarita Lecuona   Composer
S.K. Russell   Composer
Bob Bernotas   Interviewer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews