The Best of the Waterboys: 1981-1990

The Best of the Waterboys: 1981-1990

by The Waterboys


What separates The Waterboys' music from other bands of the same Celtic, folk-rock sound is the intricacies that lead singer Mike Scott puts into his work. His lyrics are forever tangled up in metaphors and philosophy, brightened by accompanying mandolins, saxophones, and even trumpets. Rich in its boatyard appeal and seaside caricature, The Best of the Waterboys harbors their most renowned pieces from 1981 straight through to 1990, bringing to light their dockside effervescence with songs like "Fisherman's Blues" and "Strange Boat." Superb at conveying atmosphere with their instruments, the Waterboys added depth and uniqueness to a decade that was being saturated with arena rock, synth pop, and heavy metal. The sweetness of tunes like "A Girl Called Johnny" and "Spirit" are blanketed with the comfort of Anthony Thistlethwaite's sax and upright bass strumming, and "A Bang on the Ear" loses itself in its cozy Englishness. The prettiest of all the songs is by far "The Whole of the Moon" from This Is the Sea, which has Scott singing his most passionate assortment of romantic lyrics to the relaxed pace of Karl Wallinger's synthesizer. The beauty of their music unfolds throughout their vivid collaboration of voice and instrument, heightened in tracks such as "A Man Is in Love" and "All the Things She Gave Me." Here, the small village idioms wrap themselves around the music to produce a certain innocence that forever binds itself to Scott's persona. It is this collaboration of esoteric lyricism and jovial harmonies that cast wonderment throughout each separate piece. This compilation is an excellent discovery point for anyone interested in the gorgeous complexity of the Waterboys' music. [This album was reissued in 2003 as Essential].

Product Details

Release Date: 10/11/2005
Label: Emi Europe Generic
UPC: 0094632184528
catalogNumber: 321845

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Waterboys   Primary Artist
Rupert Hine   Percussion
Sharon Shannon   Button Accordion
Eddi Reader   Vocals
Tim Blanthorn   Violin
Fran Breen   Drums
Noel Bridgeman   Drums
Jay Dee Daugherty   Drums
Martin Ditcham   Percussion
Trevor Hutchinson   Bass
Vinnie Kilduff   Guitar
Nick Linden   Bass
Roddy Lorimer   Trumpet
Ray Massey   Percussion
Peter McKinney   Drums
Máirtín O'Connor   Button Accordion
Ingrid Schroeder   Background Vocals
Mike Scott   Guitar,Piano,Vocals
TV Smith   Background Vocals
Barbara Snow   Trumpet
Anthony Thistlethwaite   Organ,Bass,Harmonica,Mandolin,Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone,Upright Bass,Mouth Organ
Karl Wallinger   Synthesizer,Percussion,Piano,Background Vocals,Synthesizer Bass
Chris Whitten   Drums
Steve Wickham   Organ,Fiddle
Kevin Wilkinson   Drums
Colin Blakey   Flute,Piano
Max Edie   Background Vocals
Vinnie Kiduff   Guitar

Technical Credits

Rupert Hine   Producer
Sharon Shannon   Contributor
Barry Beckett   Producer
Delahaye   Contributor
Mick Glossop   Producer
Felix Kendall   Engineer
Vinnie Kilduff   Producer
Patrick McCarthy   Engineer
Máirtín O'Connor   Contributor
Mike Scott   Composer,Producer,Liner Notes
Ted Sharp   Engineer
Phil Tennant   Producer
Karl Wallinger   Producer
John Williams   Contributor,Advisor
John Dunford   Producer
Vinnie Kiduff   Producer
Jim Preen   Engineer
Frank Miller   Cover Photo

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews