The Big Time

The Big Time

by Robin Holcomb



There are a total of six years between Robin Holcomb's mostly instrumental Little Three and 2002's The Big Time. But one has to reach back even further for her last batch of original songs, Rockabye in 1992. While such large gaps seem like a lifetime in an artist's career, Holcomb just picks up where she left off. Her two renditions of traditional material from the Anthology of American Folk Music are noteworthy if for no other reason than how little they have to do with the originals. "A Lazy Farmer Boy" might be described as avant-garde folk, and one has to wonder if the presence of Danny Barnes from the Bad Livers has perversely affected this rendition. Another interesting connection is the presence of guitarist Bill Frisell and bassist Keith Lowe, both also on the Nonesuch roster. These musicians build a layered soundscape on pieces like "Engine 143," providing lots of space for Holcomb's evocative voice to float in. These arresting arrangements also work well on her self-penned material, as with the soulful "I Tried to Believe" and the slow-rocking opener, "Pretend." Unlike a number of singer/songwriters, Holcomb's more experimental approach to vocals and accompaniment gives her an edge and broadens her appeal. Fans of contemporary folk will like the lyrical content of The Big Time, but non-folk fans will be drawn to the lovely sound and careful layering of Holcomb's music.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/18/2002
Label: Nonesuch
UPC: 0075597965322
catalogNumber: 79653

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Robin Holcomb   Primary Artist,Piano,Vocals
Danny Barnes   Banjo,Electric Guitar,Vocals
Bill Frisell   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Wayne Horvitz   Hammond Organ
Anna McGarrigle   Vocals
Doug Wieselman   Clarinet,Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Julie Wolf   Vocals
Kate McGarrigle   Vocals
Keith Lowe   Electric Bass,Acoustic Bass
Tucker Martine   Tambourine
Eyvind Kang   Viola
Andy Roth   Drums
Steve Moore   Trombone
Dave Carter   Trumpet
Timothy Young   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar

Technical Credits

David Bither   Executive Producer
Joe Ferla   Engineer
Wayne Horvitz   Arranger,Producer
Doug Wieselman   Arranger
Tucker Martine   Engineer
William Eggleston   Cover Photo

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews