Collected Plays

Collected Plays

by Charles Williams PhD


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, October 29


Collected Plays
Charles Williams
Introduction by John Heath-Stubbs
416 pp. / 5 x 8 / Trade Paper / $29.95
Regent ISBN 1-57383-366-5
Reprint of Oxford University Press edition, 1963
Royalties: £150.00 prepaid to Higham
Need cover

This volume contains the complete dramatic works of Charles Williams. Williams' plays can be enjoyed at more than one level. Though what they have in common is the author's gift for poetic expression, they also demonstrate his range. Complex theology, knockabout farce, and historical tragedy are all represented here. The plays are simple enough for amateur performances but subtle enough to give scope for many interpretations.

Thomas Cranmer of Canterbury
Judgement at Chelmsford
• Seed of Adam
The Death of Good Fortune
The House by the Stable
Grab and Grace or It's the Second Step
The House of the Octopus
Terror of Light
The Three Temptations

Charles Williams-novelist, poet, critic, dramatist and biographer-died in his native England in May, 1945. He had a lively and devoted following there and achieved a considerable reputation as a lecturer on the faculty of Oxford University. T. S. Eliot, Dorothy Sayers and C. S. Lewis were among his distinguished friends and literary sponsors. He was also a member of the Inklings, a group of Christian writers that included J.R.R. Tolkien, author of The Lord of the Rings.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781573833660
Publisher: Regent College Publishing
Publication date: 02/20/2006
Pages: 416
Sales rank: 1,049,167
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.93(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews