The Complete Columbia Albums Collection

The Complete Columbia Albums Collection

by Stan Getz

CD(Special Edition)


With his beautiful, Lester Young-inspired tone, his grace with a melody, and his willingness to gently push boundaries, tenor saxophonist Stan Getz was known as "The Sound" for good reason. Coming to fame with the Woody Herman band in the '40s, he held his own through both the swing and bebop eras, then found renewed commercial success in the early '60s when a João Gilberto collaboration, "The Girl from Ipanema," was a big hit and ushered in a bossa nova boom. Getz loved playing with bold young players like Chick Corea and Stanley Clarke, and he didn't shy away from new technology, championing the Echoplex for a time. This wonderful set includes the albums he recorded for Columbia Records between 1972 and 1979 (most of which he produced himself), as well as the soundtrack LP to a Dutch film called Forest Eyes from 1979, and a bonus disc of Getz at Carnegie Hall for the 40th anniversary of the Woody Herman band that also includes live sets from the 1977 Montreux Jazz and the 1979 Havana Jam festivals. It's beautifully packaged, and Getz is Getz throughout.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/12/2012
Label: Sony
UPC: 0886978805829
catalogNumber: 788058

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Stan Getz   Primary Artist,Tenor Saxophone,Soloist,Echoplex
Lalo Schifrin   Piano,Conductor
Billy Bauer   Guitar
Arthur Blythe   Alto Saxophone
Conte Candoli   Trumpet
Pat Coil   Keyboards
Albert Dailey   Piano
Peter Erskine   Drums
João Gilberto   Guitar,Percussion,Vocals
Jimmy Giuffre   Tenor Saxophone
Dexter Gordon   Tenor Saxophone
Jake Hanna   Drums
Billy Hart   Drums
Jimmy Heath   Tenor Saxophone
Michele Hendricks   Vocals
Woody Herman   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone,Vocals
Bob James   Piano
Elvin Jones   Drums
Andy LaVerne   Piano,Electric Piano,Electric Harpsichord,Mini Moog
Joe Lovano   Flute,Tenor Saxophone
Flip Phillips   Tenor Saxophone
Nat Pierce   Piano
Jimmy Rowles   Piano,Vocals
Woody Shaw   Trumpet
Steve Swallow   Bass
Allen Vizzutti   Trumpet
Cedar Walton   Piano
Tony Williams   Drums
Ralph Burns   Piano
Pete Candoli   Trumpet
Clint Houston   Bass
Chubby Jackson   Bass
Mike Richmond   Bass,Electric Bass
Grady Tate   Drums
Phil Wilson   Trombone
Don Lamond   Drums
Danny Stiles   Trumpet
Percy Heath   Bass
Airto Moreira   Percussion
Willy Tjon Ajong   Percussion,Electric Piano
Gary Anderson   Clarinet,Flute,Alto Flute,Tenor Saxophone
Ray Armando   Percussion
Rubens Bassini   Percussion
Willie Bobo   Percussion
Dennis Budimir   Guitar
Larry Bunker   Percussion
Sonny Burke   Synthesizer
Sonny Carr   Percussion
Oscar Castro-Neves   Guitar
Stanley Clarke   Bass,Electric Bass
Armando Anthony Corea   Electric Piano
Paulinho Da Costa   Percussion
Jim Daniels   Bass Trombone
Dennis Dotson   Trumpet
Steve Forman   Percussion
Rob Franken   Electric Piano
Nelson Hatt   Piccolo Trumpet
Jon Hendricks   Vocals
Jan Hollestelle   Bass
Bobby Hutcherson   Vibes
Paul Jackson   Guitar
Gordon Johnson   Bass
Victor Jones   Drums
Dale Kirkland   Trombone
Abraham Laboriel   Electric Bass
Michael Lang   Synthesizer
Timothy May   Guitar
Mike Melvoin   Electric Piano
Joe Porcaro   Percussion
Jim Pugh   Trombone
Zoot Sims   Tenor Saxophone
Frank Tiberi   Clarinet,Flute,Tenor Saxophone
Efrain Toro   Percussion
Buster Williams   Bass
Clark Spangler   Synthesizer
John Hoffman   Trumpet
Beverly Getz   Vocals
John Oslawski   Bass Clarinet,Alto Flute,Baritone Saxophone
Rob Van Kreeveld   Piano,Electric Piano
Bob Zemmitti   Percussion
Rusty Holloway   Bass
Koos Serierse   Bass
Heloisa Buarque De Hollanda   Vocals
Dan D'Imperio   Drums
Billy Byrne   Trumpet
Jurre Haanstra   Percussion,Piano,Conductor,Drums
Paul Bagmeyer   Bass
Judy Hendricks   Vocals
Henk "Mr. Flexible" Braaf   Guitar
Benny Behr   Concert Master

Technical Credits

Rudolf Friml   Composer
Andrew Lloyd Webber   Composer
Lalo Schifrin   Arranger,Composer
Chico Buarque   Composer
Hoagy Carmichael   Composer
Mercer Ellington   Composer
Gil Fuller   Composer
Stan Getz   Composer,Producer,Liner Notes,Digital Delay
Gilberto Gil   Composer
João Gilberto   Composer
Jimmy Giuffre   Arranger,Composer
Gigi Gryce   Composer
Vince Guaraldi   Arranger,Composer
Woody Herman   Arranger
Gordon Jenkins   Composer
Andy LaVerne   Composer,Arp String Ensemble
Jimmy Rowles   Composer
Wayne Shorter   Composer
Ralph Towner   Composer
Cedar Walton   Arranger,Composer
Ralph Burns   Arranger,Composer
Gene Lees   Composer
Mike Richmond   Composer
Gale Garnett   Composer
Bronislaw Kaper   Composer
Chano Pozo   Composer
Gary Anderson   Arranger
Dale Ashby   Engineer
Alan Bergman   Composer
Marilyn Bergman   Composer
Johnny Burke   Composer
Jay Chattaway   Producer
John Coppola   Arranger,Composer
Armando Anthony Corea   Composer
Walter Donaldson   Composer
Dubin   Composer
Duke Ellington   Composer
Emile Elsen   Engineer
Doug Epstein   Engineer
Keith Grant   Engineer
Johnny Green   Composer
Oscar Hammerstein   Composer
Otto Harbach   Composer
Edward Heyman   Composer
Ruud Jacobs   Producer
Antonio Carlos Jobim   Composer
Joe Jorgensen   Engineer
Gus Kahn   Composer
Johnny Mercer   Composer
Mike Moran   Engineer
Russ Payne   Engineer
Cole Porter   Composer
Norman Schwartz   Producer
Richard Seidel   Producer,Liner Notes
Frank Signorelli   Composer
Billy Strayhorn   Composer
James Van Heusen   Composer
Harry Warren   Composer
Paul Francis Webster   Composer
Bert de Coteaux   Producer
Tim Rice   Composer
John Berg   Cover Design
Matty Malneck   Composer
Jimmy Sherman   Composer
Pat Martin   Engineer
Don Hunstein   Back Cover Photo
Roger Huyssen   Airbrushing
Gerard Huerta   Logo Design
David Richards   Engineer
Edward O'Dowd   Art Direction
Daniel Baumgarten   Producer
Richard Bogart   Engineer
Seymour Chwast   Illustrations
Mike Kull   Tape Research
Mike Panico   Archival Assistant
Charles Schulz   Cover Art
Mischa Spoliansky   Composer
Bill Ashby   Engineer
Ann Ronell   Composer
Robert Sour   Composer
Frank Eyton   Composer
Mort Dixon   Composer
Fleecie Moore   Composer
Alcivando Luz   Composer
Herivelto Martins   Composer
Tom Tierney   Archival Assistant
Jimmy Davis   Composer
Ram Ramirez   Composer
Geraldo Pereira   Composer
Billy Rose   Composer
Roberto Roberti   Composer
Houghton   Cover Photo
Stanley Tonkel   Engineer
Dixon Van Winkle   Engineer
Jurre Haanstra   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Mike Berniker   Producer
Carlos Coqueijo   Composer
Che Williams   Archival Assistant
Teresa Alferi   Cover Design

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews