The Complete Recordings

The Complete Recordings

by Frankie Lymon & the Teenagers


$129.23 $149.99 Save 14% Current price is $129.23, Original price is $149.99. You Save 14%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25


This five-CD set contains more Frankie Lymon & the Teenagers than any casual fan has likely ever thought of listening to, much less owning. Only one of its five CDs is less than satisfying, yet only a portion of this collection contains music that is actually important to the history of rock & roll. The first disc contains everything that Lymon and the Teenagers recorded together for official release. By the second disc, we're already into the Teenagers' recordings without Lymon, as well as live performances by Lymon and the Teenagers from The Ed Sullivan Show and various Alan Freed concert events. The final three discs are made up entirely of Lymon's solo sides from 1957 through 1968. From the 20 or so familiar early songs, one hears them "progress" to the later numbers, where their vocalizing became more sophisticated and subtle, but less cohesive. Disc three opens the Frankie Lymon solo material, and with all due respect to his memory, it's a disaster. His early solo sides, from 1957 through early 1958, tried to appeal strictly to pop listeners, with results that had no beat or any other serious appeal. Disc four finds him back on track, featuring 30 entertaining and engaging rock & roll songs that show Lymon in extraordinarily good voice. Disc five continues with Lymon's recordings for Columbia in 1964 to his final records in 1968. The sad and surprising part is that a lot of it isn't bad at all. Lymon's voice matured into a fairly nondescript instrument, but he could still put a good song over, as many of these later tracks show.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/15/1994
Label: Bear Family
UPC: 4000127157829
catalogNumber: 15782
Rank: 223362


Disc 1

  1. Why Do Fools Fall in Love?
  2. Please Be Mine
  3. Love Is a Clown
  4. Am I Fooling Myself Again
  5. I Want You to Be My Girl
  6. I'm Not a Know It All
  7. I'm Not a Know It All
  8. I Promise to Remember
  9. ABC's of Love
  10. Share
  11. I'm Not a Juvenile Delinquent
  12. Baby Baby
  13. Paper Castles
  14. Teenage Love
  15. Together
  16. You
  17. It Would Be So Nice
  18. Out in the Cold Again
  19. Little White Lies
  20. Begin the Beguine
  21. Love Is a Clown
  22. I Want You to Be My Girl
  23. I Want You to Be My Girl
  24. I'm Not a Know It All
  25. Who Can Explain?
  26. ABC's of Love

Disc 2

  1. I Promise to Remember
  2. Share
  3. Fortunate Fellow
  4. Lost Without Your Love
  5. I'll Walk Alone (Without Love)
  6. Everything to Me
  7. Flip Flop
  8. Good Love
  9. Flip Flop
  10. Mama Wanna Rock
  11. My Broken Heart
  12. Crying
  13. Tonight's the Night
  14. Can You Tell Me
  15. A Little Wiser Now
  16. What's on Your Mind
  17. Love Me Long
  18. He's No Lover
  19. I Hear the Angels Cry
  20. The Wild Female
  21. Jean of the Ville
  22. The Draw
  23. Why Do Fools Fall in Love?
  24. Please Be Mine
  25. I Promise to Remember
  26. Why Do Fools Fall in Love?
  27. Goody Goody
  28. It's Christmas Once Again

Disc 3

  1. Goody Goody
  2. The Only Way to Love
  3. Miracle in the Rain
  4. Yours
  5. The Glow Worm
  6. Goody Goody
  7. Love Is the Thing
  8. You Can't Be True
  9. Fools Rush In
  10. Too Young
  11. Over the Rainbow
  12. As Time Goes By
  13. Don't Take Your Love
  14. Ghost of a Love
  15. Goody Goody
  16. Creation of Love
  17. Blue Moon
  18. These Foolish Things
  19. You Were Only Fooling
  20. Guilty
  21. So Goes My Love
  22. It's Christmas Once Again
  23. My Girl
  24. My Baby Just Cares for Me
  25. Somebody Loves Me
  26. Silent Night
  27. Little Girl
  28. Let's Fall in Love
  29. Thumb Thumb
  30. Portable on My Shoulder

Disc 4

  1. Footsteps
  2. That's the Way Love Goes
  3. Wake Up Little Susie
  4. Short Fat Fannie
  5. Waitin' in School
  6. Next Time You See Me
  7. Jailhouse Rock
  8. Send for Me
  9. Buzz Buzz Buzz
  10. Searchin'
  11. Silhouettes
  12. It Hurts to Be in Love
  13. Diana
  14. Diana
  15. Little Bitty Pretty One
  16. Mama Don't Allow It
  17. Girls Were Made for Boys
  18. Campus Queen
  19. The Only Way to Love
  20. No Matter What You've Done
  21. Melinda
  22. Ain't She Sweet
  23. Almost out of My Mind
  24. Rockin' Tambourine
  25. Danny Boy
  26. Up Jumped a Rabbit
  27. Before I Fall Asleep
  28. Prince or Pauper
  29. What a Little Moonlight Can Do
  30. 'Deed I Do

Disc 5

  1. Since the Beginning of Time
  2. Pardon Me Please
  3. The Magic Song
  4. A Kiss from Your Lips
  5. The Joke
  6. The Rainbow
  7. The Joke
  8. Goody Good Girl
  9. Blessed Are They
  10. I'm Not Too Young to Dream
  11. Almost out of My Mind
  12. Is You Is or Is You Ain't My Baby?
  13. Lover, Come Back to Me
  14. Change Partners
  15. So Young
  16. Young
  17. I Put the Bomp (In the Bomp Bomp Bomp)
  18. To Each His Own
  19. Teacher, Teacher
  20. Roll On
  21. Push and Pull
  22. Sweet and Lovely
  23. Somewhere
  24. Somewhere
  25. I'm Sorry
  26. Sea Breeze

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Frankie Lymon & the Teenagers   Primary Artist,Track Performer
Frankie Lymon   Vocals
Sears   Saxophone
Louie Lymon   Vocals
Moe Wechsler   Piano
Skeeter Best   Guitar
Abie Baker   Bass
Casamenti   Guitar
Panama Francis   Drums
Sol Gubin   Percussion
Hall   Bass
Milt Hinton   Bass
Buddy Lucas   Saxophone
J. Marshall   Drums
Freddie Mitchell   Saxophone
S. Powell   Saxophone
Sol Schlinger   Saxophone
Jimmy Shirley   Guitar
Jimmy Wright   Saxophone
Kenny Bobo   Vocals
Gene Brooks   Drums
Jerome Day   Guitar
Delecates   Vocals
Sherman Garnes   Bass (Vocal)
Freddie Houston   Vocals
Freddie Johnson   Piano
Billy Lobrano   Vocals
Jimmy Merchant   Tenor (Vocal)
Joe Negroni   Baritone (Vocal)
A. Ryerson   Guitar
Herman Santiago   Tenor (Vocal)
Jimmy Phipps   Piano

Technical Credits

Leonard Bernstein   Composer
George Gershwin   Composer
Stephen Sondheim   Composer
Ray Charles   Contributor
Nolan Strong   Contributor
Count Basie   Contributor
Louis Jordan   Composer
John Gray   Composer
Harold Arlen   Composer
Houston   Composer
Dorsey Burnette   Composer
Andy Adams   Composer
Jimmy Castor   Composer
Franz Gruber   Composer
Richard Barrett   Composer
Johnny Burnette   Composer
Buddy DeSylva   Composer
Panama Francis   Contributor
Bob Hyde   Reissue Producer
Hugo Peretti   Contributor
Ballard MacDonald   Composer
Johnny Mercer   Composer
Peter Grendysa   Liner Notes
Sherman Garnes   Composer
Germz   Contributor
George Goldner   Composer
Jimmy Merchant   Composer
Herman Santiago   Composer
Rudy Traylor   Contributor
Matty Malneck   Composer
Robert Byrd   Composer
Luther Dixon   Composer
Shirley Owens   Composer
Jimmy Smith   Composer
Ted Koehler   Composer
Joseph Mohr   Composer
Harry Link   Composer
Jack Strachey   Composer
Holt Marvell   Composer
Bill Austin   Composer
Elaine Blackman   Composer
Frederick Edward Weatherly   Composer
Herman Hupfeld   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews