The Definitive Collection

The Definitive Collection

by Thin Lizzy


$12.79 $13.99 Save 9% Current price is $12.79, Original price is $13.99. You Save 9%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, October 28


Thin Lizzy already had a fine collection on the market that went a long way toward presenting them as perhaps the best guitar rock band of the '70s. Dedication: The Very Best of Thin Lizzy is an 18-track call to arms packed with Phil Lynott's magical songs, lyrics, and voice as well as the twin guitar gods Scott Gorham and Brian Robertson (with a little Gary Moore here and there). The Definitive Collection aims to replace it and stumbles just a bit. Just as on Dedication, all the big hits ("The Boys Are Back in Town," "Whiskey in the Jar," "Jailbreak"), key album tracks ("Showdown," "Wild One," "The Cowboy Song"), statements of intent ("The Rocker"), and moments of hard rock genius ("Don't Believe a Word," "Dancing in the Moonlight [It's Caught Me in the Spotlight]") are here. What's different on The Definitive Collection is the omission of two worthy songs ("She Knows" and "Fighting My Way Back") and the replacement of the studio version of "Rosalie" with an exciting live version from 1978's Live and Dangerous album that splices in a couple measures of "Cowgirl's Song" much to the audience's delight. The omissions and changes make this less definitive than Dedication. A track or two probably could have been added instead. If Dedication is no longer available though, anyone looking for a fine single-disc collection of Lizzy's finest moments should turn to The Definitive Collection first.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/20/2006
Label: Mercury
UPC: 0602498397008
catalogNumber: 000681202
Rank: 20276

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Thin Lizzy   Primary Artist
Midge Ure   Background Vocals
Phil Lynott   Acoustic Guitar,Harmonica,Bass Guitar,Vocals,12-string Guitar,String Machine
Snowy White   Guitar
Eric Bell   Acoustic Guitar
Brian Downey   Percussion,Drums
Scott Gorham   Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals
John Helliwell   Saxophone
Brian Robertson   Guitar,Keyboards,Vocals

Technical Credits

Thin Lizzy   Producer
Phil Lynott   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Snowy White   Composer
Eric Bell   Arranger,Composer
Brian Downey   Arranger,Composer
Scott Gorham   Composer
Keith Harwood   Engineer
Ron Nevison   Producer
Bob Seger   Composer
Chris Sheldon   Engineer
Nick Tauber   Producer
Tony Visconti   Producer,Engineer
Kit Woolven   Producer
Will Reid Dick   Producer
Pat Lawrence   Executive Producer
Traditional   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Definitive Collection 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
surrealblue More than 1 year ago
Thin Lizzy was one of the quintessential 70's rock bands and this collection is packed with amazing songs! "Whiskey in the Jar", "Jailbreak" and "The Boys Are Back in Town" were all international hits from this diverse Irish group. Phil Lynott's soulful voice shines on slower songs like "Still in Love with You" and "Dancing in the Moonlight." While hard rocking numbers like "Bad Reputation" and "Chinatown" capture the energy and attitude of true Rock-n-Roll. These are not your average rock songs; the intelligent lyrics and story-telling quality of the writing give each song a unique personality while the great rock instrumentals carry throughout. No music collection is complete without this 'Definitive Collection.'
Anonymous More than 1 year ago