The Disco Years, Vol. 7: The Best Disco in Town

The Disco Years, Vol. 7: The Best Disco in Town



Dozens upon dozens of disco compilations -- some good, some bad -- have been released since Rhino dribbled out their seven-volume Disco Years series in the '90s. While several of the discs that have followed offer consistent track listings and more eye-pleasing packaging, this particular series remains one of the best available. Across seven discs, the disco phenomenon is summarized with a near-perfect balance between the universally known and the not quite as popular. Some might want to stick strictly to the pop-chart toppers, which is understandable for nostalgia's sake; however, one of the most important characteristics of this era is that the singles that failed to cross over into mainstream territory consistently rivaled -- and frequently trumped -- their gold and platinum counterparts. So, it doesn't matter whether you were a Paradise Garage regular or an infrequent viewer of Dance Fever -- there's something for everyone on each of these volumes. The seventh volume of The Disco Years, subtitled "The Best Disco in Town," is yet another excellent part of the series, though its near absence of instantly recognizable tracks will likely deter casual disco fans. Evelyn "Champagne" King's "I'm in Love," Eruption's "I Can't Stand the Rain," Ashford & Simpson's "Found a Cure," and Voyage's "I Surrender" are here, and so are a couple of major smashes -- the Weather Girls' "It's Raining Men" and Kool & the Gang's "Get Down on It." The most problematic aspect of these discs is that they favor radio edits that often trim several minutes from the original versions. Hardcore disco freaks will argue that a compromise of the extended groove defeats the purpose, but Rhino would have had to stretch this series out to an unwieldy size in order to accommodate each inclusion's most club-friendly mix.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/18/1995
Label: Rhino
UPC: 0081227212322
catalogNumber: 72123

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Ashford & Simpson   Track Performer
Chic   Track Performer
Kool & the Gang   Track Performer
Cheryl Lynn   Track Performer
Ritchie Family   Track Performer
Weather Girls   Track Performer
Magazine 60   Track Performer
Voyage   Track Performer
Sarah Brightman   Track Performer
Bell & James   Track Performer
Eruption   Track Performer
Hot Chocolate   Track Performer
Hot Gossip   Track Performer
Debbie Jacobs   Track Performer
Silver Convention   Track Performer
Boys Town Gang   Track Performer
Evelyn "Champagne" King   Track Performer
B.B. & Q. Band   Track Performer

Technical Credits

Kool & the Gang   Composer
James "J.T." Taylor   Composer
Ken Barnes   Producer
Robert "Kool" Bell   Composer
George "Funky" Brown   Composer
Donald Bryant   Composer
Silvester Levay   Composer
David McLees   Producer
Kashif Saleem   Composer
Michael Sutton   Composer
Brenda Sutton   Composer
Dennis "D.T." Thomas   Composer
Curtis "Fitz" Williams   Composer
Coco Shinomiya   Art Direction
Stephan Prager   Composer
Errol Brown   Composer
Claydes Smith   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews