The Distance

The Distance

by Bob Seger & the Silver Bullet Band


$16.04 $19.99 Save 20% Current price is $16.04, Original price is $19.99. You Save 20%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, August 29


The Distance was hailed as a return to form upon the time of its release and, in many ways, might be a little stronger, a little more consistent than its predecessor, Against the Wind. Still, this album has the slickest production Bob Seger had yet granted, and the biggest hit single on The Distance wasn't written by him, it was a cover of Rodney Crowell's "Shame on the Moon." Now, this wasn't entirely unusual, since Seger had been an excellent interpreter of songs for years, but this, combined with the glossy sound, signaled that Seger may have been more concerned with his status as a popular, blue-collar rocker than his music. Not that there's much to fault with the music, since "Even Now" and "Roll Me Away" are easily two of his classics, and he turns out craftsmanlike rockers like "Makin' Thunderbirds" and "Boomtown Blues" with aplomb. For all its attributes, it feels like a mirror image of Against the Wind, an album where the rockers, on the whole, wind up being more convincing than the ballads. Now, that doesn't mean The Distance is a bad record, since it isn't -- it's filled with first-rate heartland rockers -- but Seger at his best could balance rockers with ballads, or if he concentrated on rockers, it would be more ferocious than this. This album is simply solid, a nice addition to his catalog, but not a knockout.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/25/1990
Label: Capitol
UPC: 0077774600521
catalogNumber: 46005
Rank: 3408

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Bob Seger & the Silver Bullet Band   Primary Artist
Bonnie Raitt   Vocals
Pete Carr   Guitar
Don Felder   Guitar
Davey Johnstone   Guitar
Bobbye Hall   Percussion
Drew Abbott   Guitar
Barry Beckett   Keyboards
Roy Bittan   Piano
Ginger Blake   Vocals
Michael Boddicker   Synthesizer
Chris Campbell   Bass
Laura Creamer   Vocals
Linda Dillard   Vocals
Glenn Frey   Guitar
Craig Frost   Keyboards
Roger Hawkins   Drums
David Hood   Bass
Danny Kortchmar   Guitar
Russ Kunkel   Drums
Randy McCormick   Keyboards
Shaun Murphy   Vocals
Bill Payne   Synthesizer,Keyboards
Alto Reed   Horn
Bob Seger   Guitar,Vocals,Track Performer
Joan Sliwin   Vocals
Waddy Wachtel   Guitar

Technical Credits

Jimmy Iovine   Producer
Shelly Yakus   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews