The Dock of the Bay

The Dock of the Bay

by Otis Redding


$4.99 $5.99 Save 17% Current price is $4.99, Original price is $5.99. You Save 17%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, October 21


It was never supposed to be like this: "(Sittin' On) The Dock of the Bay" was supposed to mark the beginning of a new phase in Otis Redding's career, not an ending. Producer/guitarist Steve Cropper had a difficult task to perform in pulling together this album, the first of several posthumous releases issued by Stax/Volt in the wake of Redding's death. What could have been a cash-in effort or a grim memorial album instead became a vivid, exciting presentation of some key aspects of the talent that was lost when Redding died. Dock of the Bay is, indeed, a mixed bag of singles and B-sides going back to July of 1965, one hit duet with Carla Thomas, and two, previously unissued tracks from 1966 and 1967. There's little cohesion, stylistic or otherwise, in the songs, especially when the title track is taken into consideration -- nothing else here resembles it, for the obvious reason that Redding never had a chance to follow it up. Despite the mix-and-match nature of the album, however, this is an impossible record not to love. Cropper chose his tracks well, selecting some of the strongest and most unusual among the late singer's orphaned songs: "I Love You More Than Words Can Say" is one of Redding's most passionate performances; "Let Me Come on Home" presents an ebullient Redding accompanied by some sharp playing, and "Don't Mess with Cupid" begins with a gorgeous guitar flourish and blooms into an intense, pounding, soaring showcase for singer and band alike. No one could complain about the album then, and it still holds more than four decades later.

Product Details

Release Date: 12/08/2009
Label: Rhino Flashback
UPC: 0081227981952
catalogNumber: 80254
Rank: 162605

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Otis Redding   Primary Artist,Vocals
Steve Cropper   Guitar
Carla Thomas   Vocals
Joe Arnold   Tenor Saxophone
Donald "Duck" Dunn   Bass
Isaac Hayes   Keyboards
Wayne Jackson   Trumpet
Booker T. Jones   Keyboards
Floyd Newman   Baritone Saxophone
Al Jackson   Drums
Gene "Bowlegs" Miller   Trumpet
Andrew Love-Axton   Tenor Saxophone
Sammy Coleman   Trumpet

Technical Credits

Steve Cropper   Producer
Yves Beauvais   Reissue Producer
Jon Landau   Liner Notes
Jacobson   Composer
Jim Marshall   Cover Photo
Jimmie Cox   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews