The End and Other Beginnings: Stories from the Future

The End and Other Beginnings: Stories from the Future

by Veronica Roth

NOOK Book(eBook)

$10.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


Bestselling Divergent and Carve the Mark author Veronica Roth delivers a stunning collection of novella-length stories set in the future, illustrated with startling black-and-white artwork.

No world is like the other. Within this masterful collection, each setting is more strange and wonderful than the last, brimming with new technologies and beings. And yet, for all the advances in these futuristic lands, the people still must confront deeply human problems.

In these six stories, Veronica Roth reaches into the unknown and draws forth something startlingly familiar and profoundly beautiful.

With tales of friendship and revenge, plus two new stories from the Carve the Mark universe, this collection has something for new and old fans alike. Each story begins with a hope for a better end, but always end with a better understanding of the beginning.

With beautifully intricate black-and-white interior illustrations and a uniquely designed package, this is the perfect gift for book lovers.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062796547
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 10/01/2019
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 272
Sales rank: 41,712
File size: 24 MB
Note: This product may take a few minutes to download.
Age Range: 13 - 17 Years

About the Author

Veronica Roth is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Divergent, Insurgent, Allegiant, Four: A Divergent Collection, and Carve the Mark. Ms. Roth and her husband live in Chicago. You can visit her online at

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The End and Other Beginnings: Stories from the Future (International Edition) 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
TeresaReviews 8 days ago
I received an ARC of this book from the distributor, Epic Reads, at Yallwest 2019. The End and Other Beginnings is a collection of six short stories by Veronica Roth, author of the Divergent trilogy and the Carve the Mark duology. The stories include "Inertia" which was previously published in a collection called Summer Days and Summer Nights, "The Spinners," "Hearken" which was previously published in the collection Shards and Ashes, "Vim and Vigor" previously published in a collection called Three Sides of a Heart, and two short stories which take place in the Carve the Mark universe: "Armored Ones" and "The Transformationist." As a fan of science fiction, YA literature, Veronica Roth as a writer, and a lover of Carve the Mark, I am excited to read this book and share a little bit about each short story, as well as giving each short story and individual rating. Also, this book has neat illustrations within each story, and each story is approximately 45 pages, give or take a few. My entire review features each story individually with its own does not fit in the space given by B&N. If interested in individual short story infor, check out my blog post at