The Essential Eartha Kitt

The Essential Eartha Kitt

by Eartha Kitt


$13.53 $13.99 Save 3% Current price is $13.53, Original price is $13.99. You Save 3%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25


With her slinky, alluring stage presence and her wink-in-the-eye purr of a voice, Eartha Kitt was a one-of-a-kind artist and act in the 1950s, an icon who, had she been a young star when the era hit in the '80s, would have made the song video her own: she instinctively understood that the visual and the song go hand in hand in the modern pop world. This two-disc, 40-track set collects the best of her recordings for RCA Victor between 1952 and 1957, including 1952's sultry "Monotonous," 1953's "Santa Baby," "My Heart Belongs to Daddy" and "I Want to Be Evil," the haunting "The Day the Circus Left Town," and the weary, resigned "Dinner for One Please, James" both from 1955, and 1957's "St. Louis Blues," drawn from the motion picture of the same name that hit movie screens in 1958. Kitt went on to more movie, stage, club, and television work, but the heart of her recorded legacy as a singer is collected here.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/15/2011
Label: Sony Legacy
UPC: 0886978341921
catalogNumber: 783419
Rank: 50488

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Eartha Kitt   Primary Artist
Dennis Farnon   Conductor
Hugo Winterhalter   Conductor
Maurice Levine   Conductor
Joe Reisman   Conductor
Anton Coppola   Conductor
Abba Bogin   Conductor
Jester Hairston Choir   Choir, Chorus

Technical Credits

George Gershwin   Composer
Gordon Jenkins   Producer
George Shearing   Composer
Matty Matlock   Arranger
W.C. Handy   Composer
Robert Clary   Duet
Jerome Kern   Composer
Johnny Burke   Composer
Joe Carlton   Producer
Joe Darion   Composer
Herman Diaz   Producer
Dennis Farnon   Producer
Ira Gershwin   Composer
Otto Harbach   Composer
Henri René   Producer
Hugo Winterhalter   Producer
John Latouche   Composer
Cole Porter   Composer
Joe Reisman   Producer
Wayne Shanklin   Composer
Mark Larson   Art Direction
H. Betti   Composer
Michael Kull   Tape Research
Gilles Petard   Cover Photo
Harold Spina   Composer
Manuel Alvarez Maciste   Composer
Andres Eloy Blanco   Composer
Traditional   Composer
George Kleinsinger   Composer
B. Hilliard   Composer
J. Galhardo   Composer
A. Hornez   Composer
J. Shelton   Composer
J. Carroll   Composer
W. Robison   Composer
D. Cochran   Composer
H. Perry   Composer
J. Javits   Composer
C. Leigh   Composer
A. Hoffman   Composer
F. Lemarque   Composer
M. Dubey   Composer
D. Manning   Composer
L. Wilson   Composer
J. Kennedy   Composer
Henry Grill   Producer
E.D. Thomas   Composer
Michael Hill   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews