The Essential Sarah Vaughan: The Great Songs

The Essential Sarah Vaughan: The Great Songs

by Sarah Vaughan


View All Available Formats & Editions


Drawn from Sarah Vaughan's first round with Mercury Records (and its EmArcy Records subsidiary) between 1954 and 1964, this fine selection features the singer in a variety of settings ranging from intimate trios to bopping big bands and smooth, silky orchestras, all of it showcasing Vaughan's lush tone and playful phrasing. Among the many highlights are the opener, a strong rendition of a Quincy Jones arrangement of "Misty," a sparkling take on Cole Porter's "Just One of Those Things" while fronting the Count Basie Orchestra, and a duet on "Always" with her mentor, Billy Eckstine. There is a lot more to the story than this, though, and ardent listeners may want to check out the four-volume (each volume of which contains six discs) Complete Sarah Vaughan on Mercury series, but as a quick single-disc introduction to one of Vaughan's most commercially successful eras, this set will certainly get you started.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/03/1992
Label: Polygram Records
UPC: 0731451290428
catalogNumber: 512904

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Sarah Vaughan   Primary Artist,Vocals
Cannonball Adderley   Saxophone
Clifford Brown   Trumpet
Jimmy Cleveland   Trombone
Billy Eckstine   Vocals
Freddie Green   Guitar
Grey   Trombone
Bob James   Piano
Quincy Jones   Conductor
Thad Jones   Trumpet,Conductor
Herbie Mann   Flute
Billy Mitchell   Tenor Saxophone
Joe Newman   Trumpet
Jerome Richardson   Flute,Tenor Saxophone
Marshall Royal   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone
Ronnell Bright   Piano
Bobby Donaldson   Drums
Ernie Royal   Trumpet
Joe Benjamin   Bass
Billy Byers   Trombone
Kenny Clarke   Drums
Henry Coker   Trombone
Pierre Cullaz   Guitar
Wendell Culley   Trumpet
Bernard Eichen   Strings
Lewis Eley   Strings
Ernie Wilkins   Conductor
Paul Faulise   Trombone
Frank Foster   Tenor Saxophone
Charlie Fowlkes   Baritone Saxophone
Bernie Glow   Trumpet
Emanuel Green   Strings
Harry Lookofsky   Strings
Dick Hixson   Trombone
Jo Hrasko   Reeds
Marcel Hrasko   Reeds
J.J. Johnson   Trombone
Jimmy Jones   Piano
Leo Kruczek   Strings
Charles Libove   Strings
Jose Mangual   Percussion
Sam Marowitz   Alto Saxophone
Gene Orloff   Strings
Sonny Payne   Drums
Benny Powell   Trombone
Paul Quinichette   Tenor Saxophone
Tosha Samaroff   Strings
Zoot Sims   Reeds
Turk VanLake   Guitar
Frank Wess   Flute,Alto Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Kai Winding   Trombone
Snooky Young   Trumpet
Michael A. Hauser   Vibes
Robert Rodriguez   Bass
William Boycaya   Reeds
Juan Cadavieco   Percussion
Rafael Sierra   Percussion
Ray Haynes   Drums

Technical Credits

Richard Davis   Contributor
Erroll Garner   Composer
Quincy Jones   Arranger
Thad Jones   Arranger
Johnny Burke   Composer
Hal David   Composer
Ernie Wilkins   Arranger
Will Friedwald   Producer
Terry Jones   Composer
Ray Ellis Orchestra   Contributor
Laura Levine   Art Direction
Hal Mooney Orchestra   Contributor
Gary N. Mayo   Engineer
Alli Truch   Art Direction
Mack David   Composer
Larry Shayne   Composer
Ray Joseph   Composer
Sherman Edwards   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews