The Great Treehouse War

The Great Treehouse War

by Lisa Graff

Hardcover

$12.59 $13.99 Save 10% Current price is $12.59, Original price is $13.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, October 23

Overview

Kids vs. parents! An epic treehouse sleepover! An awesome group of friends! An exciting new book from National Book Award finalist Lisa Graff.

Winnie's last day of fourth grade ended with a pretty life-changing surprise. That was the day Winnie’s parents got divorced and decided that Winnie would live three days a week with each of them and spend Wednesdays by herself in a treehouse between their houses, to divide her time perfectly evenly. It was the day Winnie’s seed of frustration with her parents was planted, a seed that grew until it felt like it was as big as a tree itself.

By the end of fifth grade, Winnie decides that the only way to change things is to barricade herself in her treehouse until her parents come to their senses—and her friends decide to join. It’s kids vs. grown-ups, and no one wants to back down first. But with ten kids in one treehouse, all with their own demands, things get pretty complicated! Even if they are having the most epic slumber party ever.

In the newest novel by beloved National Book Award finalist Lisa Graff, kids turn the tables on their parents, and all the rules are tossed out the window. But does Winnie have what it takes to hold her ground and keep everyone happy?

This story, with a pitch-perfect middle grade voice and a zany yet poignant situation, is perfect for fans of Sharon Creech, Louis Sachar, and Jack Gantos.

Praise for Lisa Graff's novels:

The Great Treehouse War

"It’s kids vs. parents in epic fashion...Graff’s whimsical, original work is a breath of fresh air."—School Library Journal

"Combining over-the-top storytelling with down-home wisdom, this [is] fun."—Booklist

"[Graff creates] a vibrant patchwork of personalities that gives voice to the power of friendship."—Publishers Weekly

"A good-natured satire of helicopter parenting and a celebration of child ingenuity."—Horn Book

Lost in the Sun

• "Graff writes with stunning insight...consistently demonstrat[ing] why character-driven novels can live from generation to generation."—Kirkus Reviews, starred review

• "Weighty matters deftly handled with humor and grace."—School Library Journal, starred review

"This [novel] speaks powerfully, honestly, almost shockingly about our human pain and...redemption. This book will change you."—Gary Schmidt, The Wednesday Wars

"Graff crafts a compelling story about a boy touched with tragedy....And like all the best stories, it ends at a new beginning."—Richard Peck, A Year Down Yonder

Absolutely Almost


* "A perfect book to share with struggling readers."—Booklist, starred review

* "Achingly superb."—Kirkus Reviews, starred review

* "Graff’s...gentle story invokes evergreen themes of coming to appreciate one’s strengths (and weaknesses), and stands out for its thoughtful, moving portrait of a boy who learns to keep moving forward."—Publishers Weekly, starred review

"The patrons of my school library have been asking, 'Do you have any books like Wonder by R.J. Palacio?' and now I have the perfect offering."—BookPage

A Tangle of Knots

“A beautiful world of deliciously interconnected stories.”—Entertainment Weekly, A-

• “Subtle and intricate, rich with humor and insight, this quietly magical adventure delights.”—Kirkus Reviews, starred review

• “Combining the literary sensibility of E. B. White with the insouciance of Louis Sachar, [this] should satisfy readers for years to come.”—Booklist, starred review

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780525514503
Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group
Publication date: 05/16/2017
Pages: 288
Sales rank: 225,549
Product dimensions: 5.60(w) x 8.50(h) x 1.00(d)
Lexile: 890L (what's this?)
Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

About the Author

Lisa Graff (lisagraff.com) is the critically acclaimed and award-winning author of Far AwayThe Great Treehouse War, A Clatter of Jars, Lost in the SunAbsolutely AlmostA Tangle of KnotsDouble Dog DareSophie Simon Solves Them AllUmbrella SummerThe Life and Crimes of Bernetta Wallflower, and The Thing About Georgie. Lisa Graff’s books have been named to more than seventy state award lists and have been touted as best books of the year by booksellers, teachers, and librarians. A Tangle of Knots was long-listed for the National Book Award in 2013. Lisa Graff lives with her family just outside of Philadelphia. Follow her on Twitter @LisaGraff.

Read an Excerpt

The Last Day of Fourth Grade
(Continues…)



Excerpted from "The Great Treehouse War"
by .
Copyright © 2017 Lisa Graff.
Excerpted by permission of Penguin Young Readers Group.
All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.
Excerpts are provided by Dial-A-Book Inc. solely for the personal use of visitors to this web site.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Great Treehouse War 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Reading_With_Cupcakes More than 1 year ago
First things first, let me just say that The Great Treehouse War was a lot of fun to read. I started reading it and before I knew it I was near the ending. Despite being way over the intended age group for this book, I still found myself able to read and appreciate it a lot. The Great Treehouse War is about a young girl named Winnie. Winnie is your normal 10ish year old girl (she is in the fifth grade). She has friends, likes art, and has the worlds most amazing cat. She also has parents that decided that they were better off no longer married to each other. When Winnie's parents decided to divorce, they split everything up so it would be equal for both of them. One parent had Winnie 3 days of the week and the other had her for the other 3 days. This only equals up to 6 days, however, they couldn't let one parent have 4 days and the other only get 3, so they came up with a plan. Between the two properties (they had found a place that they could live there was a treehouse. So for that odd day of the week, which happened to be Wednesdays, Winnie would be in the treehouse, not with either parent. That way everything would remain totally equal and fair. Of course, that was too hard for the parents. They started celebrated all the crazy holidays that happen. They each kept trying to one up the other. This was causing Winnie to fail the fifth grade. But neither parent was listening. As long as everything was fair that was all that mattered. A lot of things went on that ended up with Winnie in the treehouse with her friends...and the great treehouse war began. See? It really is quite the book! Throughout the book there are tons of illustrations and little side notes from her classmates about the things that happened in the story. Each kid has their own little quirk, and the quirks pop up over and over again. It lightens up the seriousness of the book and makes it a lot more fun to read. At first I thought they took away a little bit from the story, but once I got used to them I enjoyed them. Also, as you can tell, there is a serious note to this book. I am an adult, not a kid in the age range that this book is intended for....so to me it was quite obvious. The way the parents were behaving was really affecting Winnie. How this translates to a kid with the way this story was written? I am not 100% sure. Maybe they will relate to Winnie, maybe they wont. I can't tell you. Did I think it was fun? Yes. Do I think Winnie should have had to go to such an extreme measure to try to get her parents to listen to her? No. But this story wasn't meant for me - the adult. It was meant for the kids. And I will definitely let a kid read this book. I think they will enjoy it and I hope that if they find themselves in a similar situation, that they will find a character that they can relate to. And that they can find some help from this book on how to speak up and be heard if they need to be. This review is based on a copy provided by the publisher in exchange for a fair and honest review. All thoughts and opinions are mine and mine alone. Find more of my reviews here: http://readingwithcupcakes.blogspot.com/
ASCarey77 More than 1 year ago
I received a copy as a goodreads giveaway. I really enjoyed this book. I was surprised by the fact that once I started reading it, I couldn't put it down. I read the first half in one sitting. This story is enjoyable. I was immediately taken in by the characters and I wrapped up in their cause. I empathized with Winnie. I like the ending. I'm glad the story had a happy ending but not too happy of one. It made it seem more believable. I feel like this is a good book for 4th and 5th graders. However, I enjoyed reading it. I originally intended to read it with my own 4th grader but I couldn't wait to finish it. I will certainly pass it along to her though. I look forward to reading more of Lisa Graff's books.