The Long Way: Sheridan House Maritime Classic

The Long Way: Sheridan House Maritime Classic


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, August 27


The Long Way is Bernard Moitessier's own incredible story of his participation in the first Golden Globe Race, a solo, non-stop circumnavigation rounding the three great Capes of Good Hope, Leeuwin, and the Horn. For seven months, the veteran seafarer battled storms, doldrums, gear-failures, knock-downs, as well as overwhelming fatigue and loneliness. Then, nearing the finish, Moitessier pulled out of the race and sailed on for another three months before ending his 37,455-mile journey in Tahiti. Not once had he touched land.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781493042784
Publisher: Sheridan House, Incorporated
Publication date: 08/15/2019
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 256
Sales rank: 745,610
Product dimensions: 5.30(w) x 8.20(h) x 0.70(d)

About the Author

Bernard Moitessier was born in 1925 in Indochina and much of his sailing knowledge was gained during time spent at sea with the fishermen of the Gulf of Siam. One of the greatest ocean voyagers, he became a legend in his time. He was also a gifted writer and wrote four books describing his seagoing adventures. He moved to France where he spent the last years of his life working on his memoirs, Tamata and the Alliance (Sheridan House, 1995), the story of an unusual man and an exciting life. Bernard Moitessier died in the summer of 1994.

Table of Contents

Part One
Chapter 1: Full Sail
Chapter 2: Clear Light
Chapter 3: Sunday at Trinidad
Chapter 4: Muchos Pocos Hacen Un Muncho
Chapter 5: Played and Lost…Played and Won

Part Two
Chapter 6: Good Hope
Chapter 7: A Saw-tooth Wake
Chapter 8: The Days and the Nights
Chapter 9: The Long Way
Chapter 10: The Rule of the Game
Chapter 11: Christmas and the Rat
Chapter 12: The Time of the Very Beginnings

Part Three
Chapter 13: My Elder Brother
Chapter 14: Joshua against Joshua
Chapter 15: One Night…
Chapter 16: One Day…and a Night

Part Four
Chapter 17: True Dreams—and False
Chapter 18: Time to Choose
Chapter 19: The Turning Point
Chapter 20: Listen, Joshua…
Chapter 21: Time to Choose—Part II
Chapter 22: The Second Turning Point

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews