The Music of Raymond Scott: Reckless Nights and Turkish Twilights

The Music of Raymond Scott: Reckless Nights and Turkish Twilights

by Raymond Scott


The name may not be immediately familiar, but the music itself certainly is; to anyone weaned on the legendary Warner Bros. cartoons of the 1940s and 1950s, Raymond Scott's deliriously inventive freak jazz is the soundtrack of childhood, with each and every note capable of conjuring up indelible images of such immortal characters as Bugs Bunny, Porky Pig, and Daffy Duck. The WB connection is both Scott's greatest legacy and his greatest curse, however; he never composed a note specifically for cartoons, and his most memorable and distinctive melodies were actually co-opted for animated use by Warner's brilliant music director, Carl Stalling. Reckless Nights and Turkish Twilights, then, restores Scott's work to its original, stand-alone setting, confirming his cult reputation as one of the most innovative and original musical thinkers of his era. Even free of cartoon mayhem, his music is remarkably visual and colorful, perfectly evocative of such surreal titles as "Dinner Music for a Pack of Hungry Cannibals" and "War Dance for Wooden Indians"; probably the best-known cut here is the opening "Powerhouse," a uniquely mechanized piece used in any number of cartoons and television commercials and a perfect summation of Scott's intricate arrangments, complex shifting rhythms, and formal lunacy. Recommended for listeners ages eight to 80.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/10/1992
Label: Sony
UPC: 0074645302829
catalogNumber: 53028

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Raymond Scott   Primary Artist,Piano,Celeste,Cello
Chubby Jackson   Bass
Bernie Leighton   Piano
Russ Case   Trumpet
Art Drelinger   Tenor Saxophone
Gordon Griffin   Trumpet
Walter Gross   Piano
Hugo Winterhalter   Clarinet,Tenor Saxophone
Art Ryerson   Guitar
Stanley Webb   Clarinet,Tenor Saxophone
Pete Pumiglio   Clarinet
John Williams [drums]   Drums
Reggie Merrill   Alto Saxophone
Lawrence Stearns   Trumpet
Johnny Williams   Drums
Fred Whiting   Bass
Slats Long   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone
Wendell Delory   Tenor Saxophone
Benny Lagasse   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone
Vince Maffei   Guitar
Mike Meola   Trumpet
Andy Picard   Drums
Lou Shoobe   Bass
Irving Sontag   Trombone
Dave Wade   Trumpet
Charles McCamish   Tenor Saxophone
Dave Harris   Tenor Saxophone

Technical Credits

Irwin Chusid   Producer,Liner Notes
Raymond Scott   Composer
Hal Willner   Executive Producer
Debra Parkinson   Engineer
Risa Zaitschek   Art Direction
Raymond Scott Quintette   Contributor

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Music of Raymond Scott: Reckless Nights and Turkish Twilights 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago