The New Jazz Sampler

The New Jazz Sampler



New Jazz was a series undertaken by Prestige Records to showcase new and underappreciated artists who were recording original and sometimes daring sounds. Some of the new artists featured on the 15-track collection that spans the years 1959-1964 are Oliver Nelson, Eric Dolphy, Lem Winchester, and Gigi Gryce. There are also early appearances (as sidemen) by such future innovators as John Coltrane, Larry Young, and Booker Little. The disc features classic tracks from landmark records like Yusef Lateef's "Cry!-Tender" from 1959's Cry!/Tender, Eric Dolphy's "Far Cry" from 1960's Far Cry, and Gigi Gryce's "The Rat Race Blues" from 1960's The Rat Race Blues. Also of note is "Da Duh Dah," a strong hard bop track by the mighty R&B saxman King Curtis from his jazz debut, The New Scene of King Curtis, from 1960. The entire disc is strong and exciting and very well-compiled. Highly recommended for all who are fans of uncompromising and thrilling hard bop.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/21/2003
Label: Ojc
UPC: 0025218371025
catalogNumber: 3710

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Nat Adderley   Trumpet,Soloist
Ron Carter   Bass,Cello
King Curtis   Tenor Saxophone
Eric Dolphy   Bass Clarinet,Alto Saxophone
Kenny Drew   Piano
Jon Eardley   Trumpet
Art Farmer   Trumpet
Tommy Flanagan   Piano
Jimmy Forrest   Tenor Saxophone
Gigi Gryce   Alto Saxophone
Louis Hayes   Drums
Elvin Jones   Drums
Sam Jones   Bass
Wynton Kelly   Piano
Booker Little   Trumpet
Herbie Mann   Flute
Red Mitchell   Bass
Hank Mobley   Tenor Saxophone
Oliver Nelson   Tenor Saxophone
Charlie Rouse   Tenor Saxophone
Art Taylor   Drums
Mal Waldron   Piano
Doug Watkins   Bass
Lem Winchester   Vibes
Larry Young   Hammond Organ
Oliver Jackson   Drums
Pete Jolly   Piano
Hugh Lawson   Piano
Richard Wyands   Piano
Thornel Schwartz   Guitar
George Duvivier   Bass
Yusef Lateef   Oboe,Tenor Saxophone
Larry Bunker   Drums
Kenny Burrell   Guitar
Jaki Byard   Piano
Paul Chambers   Bass
John Coltrane   Tenor Saxophone
Walter Davis   Piano
Eddie DeHaas   Bass
Julian Euell   Bass
Addison Farmer   Bass
Frank Foster   Tenor Saxophone
Frank Gant   Drums
Benny Golson   Tenor Saxophone
Roy Haynes   Drums
Albert "Tootie" Heath   Drums
Lonnie Hillyer   Trumpet
George Joyner   Bass
Wendell Marshall   Bass
Charlie Persip   Drums
Mickey Roker   Drums
Idrees Sulieman   Trumpet
Herman Wright   Bass
Jimmie Smith   Drums
Richard Gene Williams   Trumpet
Pete Cera   Piano

Technical Credits

King Curtis   Composer
Michael Rozek   Liner Notes
Jamie Putnam   Art Direction

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews