Only Kayak: A Journey into the Heart of Alaska

Only Kayak: A Journey into the Heart of Alaska

by Kim Heacox

NOOK Book(eBook)

$10.99 $15.99 Save 31% Current price is $10.99, Original price is $15.99. You Save 31%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

In this coming-of-middle-age memoir, Kim Heacox, writing in the tradition of Abbey, McPhee, and Thoreau, discovers an Alaska reborn from beneath a massive glacier, where flowers emerge from boulders, moose swim fjords, and bears cross crevasses with Homeric resolve. In such a place Heacox finds that people are reborn too, and their lives begin anew with incredible journeys, epiphanies, and successes. All in an America free of crass commercialism and overdevelopment.

Braided through the larger story are tales of gold prospectors and the cabin they built sixty years ago; John Muir and his intrepid terrier, Stickeen; and a dynamic geology professor who teaches earth science "as if every day were a geological epoch."

Nearly two million people come to Alaska every summer, some on large cruise ships, some in single kayaks--all in search of the last great wilderness, the Africa of America. It is exactly the America Heacox finds in this story of paradox, love, and loss.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781493008667
Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, Inc.
Publication date: 04/01/2006
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 280
Sales rank: 549,233
File size: 14 MB
Note: This product may take a few minutes to download.

About the Author

Kim Heacox is the award-winning author of several nonfiction books and the novel Caribou Crossing. His feature articles have appeared in Audubon, Travel & Leisure, Wilderness, Islands, Orion, and National Geographic Traveler. His editorials, written for the Los Angeles Times, have appeared in many major newspapers across the United States. When not playing the guitar, doing simple carpentry, or writing another novel, he's sea kayaking with Melanie, his wife of nearly twenty years, or watching a winter wren on the woodpile. Learn more at www.kimheacox.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Only Kayak: A Journey into the Heart of Alaska 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
nilchance on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Heacox's book isn't one to devour at high speed; it was one to be sipped, calming and grounding. It's about love of place, wherever that is, and preservation of the world through wildness. It's about how our collection fascination with conquering nature, with being the only kayak, has contributed to sprawl and to material excess. It's a love poem to a dying habitat, and a rage against the government that wants to drill holes in sacred places. It acknowledges that Alaska has teeth, that it can kill the careless, but that its danger is its beauty. I love this book, I love the sentiment behind it, I love its wisdom. I want to buy a hundred copies and give it out like matchbooks in a bar: a small way to light a thousand fires.
SSTREETT on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book is equal parts: memoir, history, environmental activism, philosophy, ecological education, big business scandal and tribute to a famous wildlife photographer and friend.I loved Mr. Heacox's easy writing style. He has led such an interesting life that his retelling of his experiences is captivating. There are several breath-taking photos in the books to help visualize the places and faces. I love this book so much that I give it as a gift.