The Power of One

The Power of One

by Israel Houghton



The man who reinvented contemporary gospel has reinvented himself as a solo artist on this breakthrough debut, and the result is so unbelievable that even his biggest fans may not recognize the magnitude of his talents until experiencing it for themselves. Following a string of Grammy and Dove awards for his live recordings with Israel & New Breed, the breathtakingly broad-based songwriter and performer laid down his first solo studio album, The Power of One, in 2009. The theme of social consciousness is not new to gospel music, and yet Houghton is able to make it sound so fresh and so infectious that it practically stops you in your tracks, forcing you to sit down and examine new ways to make a difference in the world. Not very many artists have the ability to make such calls to action. And it's that self-examination that Houghton uses to power each masterful track. The album title connotes several dualities that add depth to the lyrics: "one," possibly referring to his becoming a solo artist, as well as a reflection on the theme of coming together in a single voice; and "many," possibly referring to the number of new ways he implies that we can increase our social consciousness, and also the mindbending number of genres that he is able to fuse together, or perhaps the number of guest stars who contribute as either co-writers, singers, or rhythm section. Those guests include tobyMac on the pulsing rock track "You Found Me," Mary Mary on the glorious ballad "Every Prayer," Chevelle Franklyn on the reggae of "Surely Goodness," and Delirious? singer Martin Smith treating listeners on the straightforward rock of "Sing Redemption's Song." Maybe the most impressive feature of the album, however, is how "Iz" captures the energy of his previous live recordings in a studio setting.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/24/2009
Label: Sony
UPC: 0886974258421
catalogNumber: 742584

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Israel Houghton   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Piano,Vocals,Background Vocals,fender rhodes
Javier Solís   Percussion,Tambourine
Martin Cruz Smith   Background Vocals
Steve Crawford   Background Vocals
Jonathan DuBose   Guitar
Barry Green   Horn
Michael Hodge   Electric Guitar
Aaron Lindsey   Piano,Keyboards,Hammond Organ,Background Vocals,Sampling,Hammond B3
Jerry McPherson   Guitar
Michael Mellett   Background Vocals
Doug Moffet   Horn
Doug Moffett   Horn
Tracy Silverman   Strings
Tommy Sims   Bass,Bass Guitar,Background Vocals
Martin Smith   Vocals,Background Vocals
Mark Townsend   Keyboards
Liz Vaughn   Background Vocals,Sampling
Dan Needham   Percussion,Drums
Vinnie Ciesielski   Horn
Jonathan Carney   Percussion,Drums
Chevelle Franklyn   Vocals,Background Vocals
Jerard Woods   Background Vocals
Akil Thompson   Guitar,Drums
LeAnne Palmore   Background Vocals
Jovaun Woods   Background Vocals
Ray Bady   Leader,Choir Director
Sonny Boy   Vocals
Lamar Carter   Drums
Dadra Crawford Greathouse   Background Vocals
Late Great Daniel Johnson   Background Vocals
Missi Hale   Background Vocals
Joel Camey   Bass,Bass Guitar
Jonathan Camey   Percussion,Drums
Bethany Chamberlin   Background Vocals
Christabelle Clack   Background Vocals
Krystle Harper   Background Vocals
Calvin Rogers   Drums
Windsor Village's OUTBREAK Youth Ministry   Background Vocals,Choir, Chorus
Terrence Jones   Background Vocals
Daniel Johnson   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Danny Duncan   Engineer,overdub engineer
Michael Coleman   Executive Producer,Author
Andraé Crouch   Composer
Aaron Lindsey   Composer,Programming,Producer,overdub engineer,Audio Production,String Samples
Toby McKeehan   Composer
Tommy Sims   Composer,Programming,Producer,Audio Production
Brian Tankersley   Engineer,Vocal Recording
Peter Wilson   Composer
Mark Townsend   Programming
Jay Scott King   Artist Development
Ricardo Sanchez Y Sus Moonlight   Composer
Chevelle Franklyn   Composer
Chris Springer   Artist Development
Onree Gill   Arranger
Akil Thompson   Composer
Ed Cash   Composer
Chris Stevens   Engineer
Chris Tomlin   Composer
Jesse Reeves   Composer
Israel Houghton   Composer,Producer,Audio Production
Sam Noerr   Art Direction
Justin Proctor   overdub engineer
Dayna Caddell   Composer
Jerry Harris   Vocal Recording
Meleasa Houghton   Composer
Cindy Cruse Ratcliff   Composer
Daniel Johnson   Composer
Michael Coleman   Audio Production
Richard Mitchell   overdub engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Power of One 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Keystonegirl More than 1 year ago
Once again Israel Houghton has made a CD that is absolutely awesome! The songs will really speak to your heart and soul. His guest artists, TobyMac and MaryMary's songs also really rock! There isn't a song on this CD that I don't like. I highly recommend it!
godinmee More than 1 year ago
In the "Power of One", Israel Houghton and company deliver such a vast array of musical genres and sounds combined with lyrics that admonish, edify and encourage the listener. Whatever style of music you prefer, "Power of One" offers something for everybody.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago