The Promise

The Promise


The Promise may be Earth, Wind & Fire's first album in six years, but this self-contained R&B outfit show they haven't lost a step since their '70s heyday. On this set of new material, plus the previously unreleased song "Dirty," founding members Maurice White and Philip Bailey are joined by percussionist Ralph Johnson and bassist Verdine White. The brassy single "All in the Way" reunites the boys with the Emotions, the female trio who appeared on the '79 hit "Boogie Wonderland" and the '81 smash "Let's Groove." Neo-soul songstress Angie Stone provides a contemporary edge as she unobtrusively slips in amid the easy groove and gorgeous harmonies of "Wonderland." Content to mine their magic at the crossroads of Quiet Storm and lite jazz, Earth, Wind & Fire weave the kind of gorgeous, starry-eyed magic that invariably leads to canoodling, whether it's the falsetto-laced make-out anthem "Hold Me" or the equally sensual "Suppose You Like Me," with its Stevie Wonder–like harmonica nuances. Long regarded for their innate sense of funk, White and company do not disappoint, especially on the high-flying airiness of "Never" and the aforementioned "Dirty," a funk workout that features the kind of jaunty horns and popping bass that would make George Clinton smile. With The Promise, Earth, Wind & Fire keep theirs and remain one of R&B's most visionary bands.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/20/2003
Label: Kalimba Records
UPC: 0686097300225
catalogNumber: 973002

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Earth, Wind & Fire   Primary Artist
Philip Bailey   Vocals,Background Vocals
Maurice White   Vocals,Background Vocals,Kalimba
Gerald Albright   Saxophone,Alto Saxophone,Soloist
Bill Meyers   Piano
Freddie Ravel   Piano
Howard McCrary   Background Vocals
Gary Bias   Flute,Saxophone
Oscar Brashear   Trombone,Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Robert Brookins   Keyboards
Ray Brown   Trumpet,Flugelhorn,Soloist
Paulinho Da Costa   Percussion
Darrell Crooks   Guitar
Raymond Crossley   Keyboards
Greg Curtis   Background Vocals
Gary Grant   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Jerry Hey   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Sheila Hutchinson   Background Vocals
Darryl Jackson   Percussion
Ralph Johnson   Percussion,Background Vocals
Valarie King   Flute
Wayne Linsey   Keyboards
Andy Martin   Trombone
Tollak Ollestad   Harmonica
John Paris   Drums
Carlos Rios   Acoustic Guitar
Wanda Vaughn   Vocals,Background Vocals
Wayne Vaughn   Drums,Keyboards,Background Vocals
Fred White   Background Vocals
Verdine White   Bass
B. David Witworth   Background Vocals
Michael "Patches" Stewart   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Alan Hewitt   Keyboards
Gregory Moore   Guitar
William Frank "Bill" Reichenbach   Trombone
Reggie C. Young   Trombone
Gregory Curtis   Keyboards,Background Vocals
Myron McKinley   Keyboards
Danny Reyes   Percussion
George Bohanon   Trombone
Ralph Boyd Johnson   Percussion,Background Vocals
Eric Walls   Guitar
Tom Mgrdichian   Keyboards

Technical Credits

Philip Bailey   Executive Producer
Robbie Robertson   Composer
Keith Sweat   Composer
Maurice White   Composer,Producer,Executive Producer,Horn Arrangements,Vocal Producer
Bill Meyers   Composer
James Bailey   Composer
Robert Brookins   Producer,drum programming
Ray Brown   Horn Arrangements
J. Fred Coots   Composer
Raymond Crossley   Composer
Larry Dunn   Composer
Preston Glass   Composer,Producer
Marc Harris   Composer
Jerry Hey   Horn Arrangements
Sheila Hutchinson   Composer
Ralph Johnson   Composer,Producer,drum programming
Paul Klingberg   Producer
Simon LeBon   Composer
Wallace Mercer   Engineer
Pino Palladino   Composer
James Poyser   Composer
Nick Rhodes   Composer
Bob Robinson   Composer,Producer,drum programming
Tommy Sims   Composer
John Taylor   Composer
Ross Vannelli   Composer
Wanda Vaughn   Composer
Wayne Vaughn   Composer,Producer,Engineer,Horn Arrangements,drum programming,Vocal Producer
Milan Williams   Composer
Leo Sacks   Inspiration
Gregory Curtis   Composer,Producer,Engineer,drum programming
?uestlove   Composer
Myron McKinley   rhythm arrangement
Andy Haller   Engineer
Cameron Marcarelli   Engineer,drum programming
Chris Rodriguez   Composer
Ben Wright   Horn Arrangements
K.C. Blinn   Art Direction
Dave Dolimar   Engineer
Richard Einhorn   Composer
Morito Suzuki   Cover Design
Tom Mgrdichian   String Arrangements
Will Mercer   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Promise 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Earth Wind & Fire hits their stride with this new album, combining their old sound with the new and the results are awesome! There are some really great tunes on this album. If you're an old fan, you'll be blown away by what I think is the best band ever.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the release EWF fans have been waiting for. Maurice is forever soulful and Philip hits all the right notes. The music and arrangements are sublime. The Promise doesn't try to be trendy, and for that it is timeless and true to the high creative standards EWF sets in their music. Love, light and positivity reign!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Enjoy, enjoy, enjoy. The band sounds wonderful. Maurice White playing his Kalimba again... the incredible vocals of Philip Bailey.... Verdine White just getting better and better. Another trip through wonderland. Listen and Enjoy. Thx guys
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love EWF, (I've even recorded with Philip's son), but this is just another uneventful SLOW to mid tempo r n' b workout. Everything sounds like it is in the same key, and the songs don't go anywhere. anybody who has ever seen them live knows that they can really burn, but this album doesn't showcase any of those moments. If only they would stop trying to keep in step with todays groups and just do what they do best; play funk better than anybody on the planet.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Supergroup earth,wind & fire is bcak at it again with their new release:The Promise.this is the best album that they have made in almost 10 years.this is a must purchase album here.Bandleader Maurice White has also returned after a long fight with parkinson's disease.when you listen to him sing you will be able to tell that he has recovered tremendously.philip bailey still has it better than ever,he still hits all the right notes.the production on the album is excellent,which was mostly done by you listen you can hear that trademark sound that has given light to many past releases,such as Faces,Raise!,I Am,and All N All.when i first saw this in the record store i was hesitant to buy it because of many reasons.maurice had not been with the group on tour or on albums in a number of years,the magic of maurice had faded as far as production goes,and maurice was sick.i bought it anyhow because i love EWF,when i put it in and heard Maurice's voice i was shocked and on top of all that he leads on 96% of the album just like the old days.all EWF fans must go pick this release up because it's worth whatever you're paying.this is a very eventful album and truly a promise.Thanks Maurice.