The Romantic Violin

The Romantic Violin

by Joshua Bell


$14.12 $16.99 Save 17% Current price is $14.12, Original price is $16.99. You Save 17%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, July 29


A compilation of selections drawn from previously released recordings, The Romantic Violin (not to be confused with Romance of the Violin on Sony) celebrates Joshua Bell's ten-year stint with Decca, offering a "greatest hits" collection focusing on the photogenic virtuoso's early career. Bell's plush tone and expressive touch animate the slow movements from concertos by Bruch, Barber, Brahms, and Tchaikovsky, while violin favorites such as Paganini's Cantabile, Kreisler's Romance, and Massenet's Thaïs "Méditation" glow with Bell's soulful lyricism. More enlivening selections reveal his sparkling technique in showstoppers like the Rondo from Lalo's Symphonie Espagnole and a Brahms Hungarian Dance. With accompaniment provided by such classical luminaries as Jean-Yves Thibaudet, Neville Marriner, and Vladimir Ashkenazy, the album presents a fine summary of the budding career of a great violinist and also serves as an enjoyable introduction to the highpoints of the Romantic violin repertoire, one that is likely to tempt classical music newcomers to seek out complete recordings of the core works excerpted here.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/13/2004
Label: Decca
UPC: 0028947561750
catalogNumber: 000278302
Rank: 67476


  1. Hungarian Dance for piano, 4 hands, in G minor, WoO 1/1
  2. Violin Concerto No.1, in G minor, Op. 26: 2. Adagio
  3. Cantabile, for violin & piano (or guitar) in D major, (MS 109)
  4. Violin Concerto, Op. 14: 2. Andante
  5. Schön Rosmarin for violin & piano
  6. Tambourin Chinois for violin & piano, Op 3
  7. Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 77: 2. Adagio
  8. Sonata for violin & piano in A major, M. 8: 1. Allegretto ben moderato
  9. Violin Concerto No. 2 in D minor, Op. 22: 2. Romance
  10. Liebesfreud "Love's Joy" for violin & piano
  11. Liebesleid "Love's Sorrow" for violin & piano
  12. Violin Concerto, for violin & orchestra (or violin & piano) in D major, Op. 35: 2. Canzonetta (Andante)
  13. Méditation, violin & orchestra version and various arrangements (from opera "Thäis")
  14. Symphonie espagnole, for violin and orchestra in D minor, Op. 21: 5. Rondo (Allegro)

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Romantic Violin 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love Joshua Bell--I think he plays with great feeling, maturity, and musicality. I find the music he plays of great variety.. His range spans the musical periods from the baroque Vivaldi to contempory Corigliano including chamber and orchestral literature --he is without a doubt one of the premier performers today. I have many of his albums and enjoy all of them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
i love violins and read that Joshua Bell was extremely talented. I suppose that must be true. After listening to this CD, I determined I should buy CDs with unknowns or various artists. Joshua Bell likes the way he plays. I don't.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Joshua Bell is one of the best violinists alive. He is able to stay to true to the composer and still put his personal touch on each piece.