The Spirit of Christmas

The Spirit of Christmas

by Michael W. Smith



Acclaimed Nashville-based singer Michael W. Smith assembled an all-star cast of guests to record The Spirit of Christmas, his fourth holiday collection. A mainstay on the Christian charts, Smith applies his crossover appeal on a big, boisterous, warm-hearted Christmas collection that boasts Vince Gill, Lady Antebellum, Little Big Town, Martina McBride, Amy Grant, Carrie Underwood, Jennifer Nettles, Bono, and Michael McDonald as collaborators. The festive big-band sound suits him well as he and his guests deliver nostalgic classics like "The Miracle of Christmas," "It's the Most Wonderful Time of the Year," and "White Christmas" backed by the London Symphony Orchestra.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/30/2014
Label: Capitol
UPC: 0602537757985
catalogNumber: 002163002

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Michael W. Smith   Primary Artist,Synthesizer,Piano
Michael McDonald   Guest Appearance
Mark Baldwin   Guitar
Mike Eldred   Choir, Chorus
Bono   Spoken Word
Vince Gill   Guitar,Soloist
Tom Hemby   Guitar
Mark Ivey   Background Vocals
Shelley Jennings   Choir, Chorus
Gary Robinson   Choir, Chorus
Scott Williamson   Drums
David Wise   Choir, Chorus
David Hamilton   Synthesizer,Percussion,Piano,Celeste,Conductor,Background Vocals,fender rhodes
Rod Fletcher   Choir, Chorus
Skip Cleavinger   Low Whistle
Chris Rodriguez   Guitar
Michelle Swift   Choir, Chorus
Jaimee Paul   Choir, Chorus
Thomas Bowes   Concert Master
Jason Barton   Choir, Chorus
Josephine Knight   Cello,Soloist
Laura Cooksey   Background Vocals
Craig Nelson   Bass,Upright Bass
Stephanie Wedan   Background Vocals
Tammy Jensen   Choir, Chorus
Shelly Justice   Choir, Chorus
Kyle Hankins   Choir Director
Becca Hamilton   Background Vocals
Melodie Kirkpatrick   Choir, Chorus
April Duren   Choir, Chorus

Technical Credits

Beth Nielsen Chapman   Composer
Amy Grant   Composer
Michael W. Smith   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Executive Producer
Irving Berlin   Composer
Michael McDonald   Composer
Vince Guaraldi   Composer
John Williams [composer]   Composer
Wes King   Composer
Cindy Morgan   Composer
Leslie Bricusse   Composer
Wayne Kirkpatrick   Composer
David Schober   Engineer
George Wyle   Composer
Kay Thompson   Composer
Mark Casselman   Vocal Engineer
Lee Mendelson   Composer,Lyricist
David Hamilton   Arranger,Producer,Engineer,Orchestration,Vocal Engineer
Allen Ditto   Vocal Engineer
Rob Burrell   Engineer,Vocal Engineer,Guitar Engineer,Piano Engineer,Rhythm Engineer
Chris Barrett   Engineer,Piano Engineer
Traditional   Composer
Edward Pola   Composer
Brad Pooler   Vocal Engineer,Guitar Engineer
Tyler Smith   Percussion Programming
Matt Rausch   Vocal Engineer,Guitar Engineer
Sarah Sung   Artwork
Melodie Kirkpatrick   Choir Contractor
Gregory Ham   Executive Producer
Robert Deaton   Producer,Executive Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews