The Third Turning of the Wheel: Wisdom of the Samdhinirmocana Sutra

The Third Turning of the Wheel: Wisdom of the Samdhinirmocana Sutra

Paperback(Large Print)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 18


In The Third Tuming of the Wheel, Zen master Reb Anderson draws on his forty years of meditation practice and his profound study of Buddhist psychology to illuminate the second-century Samdhinirmocana Sutra, a long-neglected but seminal work that attempts to reconcile Shakyamuni Buddha's early teaching with later Mahayana thought.

The setting of the sutra is a vast assembly of bodhisattvas and other realized beings who have gathered together to seek guidance from the buddha. One by one, the bodhisattvas engage in dialogue with the buddha on the great metaphysical questions that confront them-the nature of ultimate reality, the structure of human consciousness, the characteristics of phenomena, the stages of meditation, and the essential qualities of a buddha. Anderson Roshi offers his reflections on this challenging sutra with the clarity of a scholar and the insight of a practitioner.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781930485310
Publisher: Shambhala
Publication date: 04/24/2012
Edition description: Large Print
Pages: 256
Sales rank: 1,247,519
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 8.90(h) x 0.80(d)

About the Author

Reb Anderson moved to San Francisco from Minnesota, in 1967, to study Zen Buddhism with Shunryu Suzuki Roshi, who ordained him as a priest in 1970. Since then, Reb has continued to study at San Francisco Zen Center, which includes Beginner's Mind Temple at The City Center (San Francisco), Green Dragon Temple at Green Gulch Farm (near Muir Beach, California), and Zen Mind Temple (Carmel Valley, California). Reb served as abbot from 1986 to 1995 and is now a senior dharma teacher.

Table of Contents

Acknowledgments xi

Foreword James William Coleman 1

Chapter 1 The Three Turnings of the Wheel of Dharma 5

Chapter 2 Thus Have I Heard 19

Chapter 3 The Nature of the Ultimate 27

Chapter 4 The Psychological Dimension 51

Chapter 5 The Three Characteristics of Phenomena 77

Chapter 6 The Lack of Own-Being of Phenomena 101

Chapter 7 Analyzing Meditation 131

Chapter 8 The Ten Stages and the Six Perfections 163

Chapter 9 The Deeds of the Tathagatas 177

Notes 207

Permissions 211

About the Author 213

About the Editor 215

From the Publisher 217

Index 219

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews