The Truth According to Ruthie Foster

The Truth According to Ruthie Foster

by Ruthie Foster



With The Truth According to Ruthie Foster, Ruthie has finally arrived.

This extraordinary songwriter/performer tackles life's big issues throughout her sizzling new album. On it, Ruthie repeatedly testifies to her core message – that through all of the ups and downs of living, you must stay true to yourself. The pain as well as the joy of love, the strength it takes to weather life’s challenges, the hope that grows from seeds of faith and wisdom: All of this breathes inspiration and celebration into The Truth According to Ruthie Foster.

For all the facets of this album, the heat of soul music burns at its core. That’s what drew her to Memphis, where she set up shop at the legendary Ardent Studios with a stunning assembly of musicians. There, symbolically on the day of Isaac Hayes’ funeral, they began working to convey the energy of Ruthie’s performances, cutting almost everything live, going for feeling above all else … and making their own kind of history.

...With roots-music producer Chris Goldsmith overseeing the proceedings, all of the essentials – the hard-edged blues of guitar icon Robben Ford (the Yellowjackets, Bob Dylan, Joni Mitchell, countless others), the Memphis magic conjured by keyboardist Jim Dickinson (Rolling Stones, Aretha Franklin) and organist Charles Hodges (Al Green, Ann Peebles), the rock-steady rhythm anchor of bassist Larry Fulcher (Taj Mahal, Los Super Seven) and drummer Rock Deadrick (Tracy Chapman, Ben Harper) – settle into their unique pocket, with the legendary Memphis Horns adding a distinctive coup de grace.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/03/2009
Label: Blue Corn Music
UPC: 0677967090124
catalogNumber: 70901

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Ruthie Foster   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Wurlitzer
Robben Ford   Electric Guitar
James Luther Dickinson   Piano,Hammond Organ,Wurlitzer,Hammond B3
Jack Hale   Trombone,Trumpet
Charles Hodges   Hammond B3
Wayne Jackson   Trumpet,Soloist
Gina Thedford Murrell   Background Vocals
Jimmy Roberts   Tenor Saxophone,Soloist
Larry Fulcher   Electric Bass
Rock Deadrick   Drums,Tambourine
Charles E. Jr. Hodges   Hammond Organ
Tom McGinnley   Baritone Saxophone
Ji Ji   Background Vocals
Gina Murrell   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Tommy Tate   Composer
Patty Griffin   Composer
Jimmy Hoyson   Engineer
Deadric Malone   Composer
Vernon Morrison   Composer
Wolf Stephenson   Composer
James Stroud   Composer
Eric Bibb   Composer
Ira Allen   Composer
Thomas Couch   Composer
Chris Goldsmith   Producer,Audio Production
Ruthie Foster   Composer
Charles Driebe   Management
Buddy Mize   Composer
Thomas Couch   Composer
Mitchell Malouf   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews