The Upside of Down

The Upside of Down

by Chris August


$12.62 $13.99 Save 10% Current price is $12.62, Original price is $13.99. You Save 10%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25


There are artists who play it safe with their album titles, and then there's Chris August. First there was the improper English of his debut, No Far Away, an album that netted him three Dove Awards -- CCM's version of the Grammy -- and the chart-topping "Starry Night," which cemented him as Christian music's latest radio fixture. This time around August delivers The Upside of Down, a play on words meant to serve as an observation on the paradoxes of the Christian faith, all set to the crooner's acoustic brand of spirit pop. In truth, nothing on The Upside of Down quite mines the complexities of the faith experience, let alone man's response to life's ups and downs. Instead, August scratches the surface -- he is as uncomplicated and MOR a CCM singer as they come -- almost like a lite version of Bebo Norman, Aaron Shust, or Brandon Heath. August actually sounds like Heath on the title track, an acoustic walk in the park that could pass for a B-side to Heath's own "I'm Not Who I Was." August veers left of center on cuts like "Amen" and "Unashamed of You," adding a dash of gospel and blue-eyed soul to a disc that, in the end, is far more "Hey There Delilah" than a nod to the likes of Jonny Lang or Dave Barnes. The Upside of Down may not be cause to do backflips about, but it's otherwise a pleasant, if largely indistinct, sophomore disc from this maturing singer/songwriter.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/21/2012
Label: Fervent / Spirit-Led
UPC: 0080688838829
catalogNumber: 888388
Rank: 274742

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Chris August   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Keyboards,Vocals
Ian Eskelin   Background Vocals
Mike Payne   Electric Guitar
David Garcia   Keyboards
Jason Eskridge   Choir, Chorus
Josh Moore   Keyboards
Tony Lucido   Bass
Callie Cryar   Background Vocals
Ben Phillips   Percussion,Drums
Drew Ramsey   Electric Guitar
Maureen Murphy   Choir, Chorus
Jacob Schrodt   Percussion,Drums
Adrian Disch   Bass
Chris Lacorte   Electric Guitar
Carter   Choir, Chorus
Tim Lowry   Keyboards

Technical Credits

Ian Eskelin   Composer,Producer
David Garcia   Composer
Chris Stevens   Composer
Ben Glover   Composer
Jason Eskridge   Choir Arrangement
Aaron Shannon   Engineer
Katherine Petillo   Art Direction
Jason Turner   Legal Counsel
Callie Cryar   Composer
Tony Wood   Composer
Ben Phillips   Engineer
Nathan Angelo   Composer
Chris August   Composer,Programming,Producer
James Tealy   Composer
Andy Gullahorn   Composer
Seth Jones   Composer
Ben Rector   Composer
James Hodgin   Management
Jami Crockett   Management
Marc Lacueta   Vocal Engineer
Liz Whipple   grooming

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews