The Vaudeville Years of Fleetwood Mac: 1968 to 1970

The Vaudeville Years of Fleetwood Mac: 1968 to 1970

by Fleetwood Mac



Two long CDs' worth of outtakes, alternate versions, and full-length versions from the Peter Green era, most in exemplary sound quality. Although much of this is interesting, and it's occasionally very good, it resembles Peter Green's Fleetwood Mac Live at the BBC in its unevenness, both in aesthetic quality and in stylistic tone. One is struck by how much the numbers featuring Green's singing and songwriting surpass those in which the other guitarists come to the fore. When Jeremy Spencer's in charge, it means you get 1950s rock pastiches and blues satires (though he does an OK Elmore James schtick with "Talk to Me Baby" and "My Baby Is Sweeter"). These aren't without their amusing points -- there's the entire session of songs that would have made a bonus EP with Then Play On, on which Spencer does fairly humorous impressions of Alexis Korner and John Mayall -- but deathless art it's not. Green shines on a live version of "Oh Well" (everything else here, incidentally, is from the studio) and alternates of "Showbiz Blues" and "Love that Burns." There are also alternates of "Man of the World" and "The Green Manalishi," though frankly these aren't so different from the familiar renditions that they'll jar you into taking notice. Some of the cuts are nothing more than shapeless jams or instrumental tracks with ideas that sometimes got pumped up into full tunes on official albums. So it's kind of like having a high-quality, easily available bootleg of the Green-era Mac, accent on the Then Play On era. But those who like that period of Fleetwood Mac a lot will want to hear this, its luster enhanced by a 48-page booklet with an essay by Green biographer Martin Celmins.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/08/2002
Label: Sanctuary Trojan Us
UPC: 0060768025820
catalogNumber: 80258


Disc 1

  1. Intro/Lazy Poker Blues
  2. My Baby's Sweeter
  3. Love That Burns
  4. Talk to Me Baby
  5. Every Day I Have the Blues, Pt. 1
  6. Jeremy's Contribution To Doo Wop
  7. Every Day I Have the Blues, Pt. 2
  8. Death Bells
  9. (Watch Out For Yourself) Mr. Jones
  10. Man Of Action
  11. Do You Give a Damn for Me
  12. Man of the World
  13. Like It This Way
  14. Blues in B Flat Minor
  15. Someone's Gonna Get Their Head Kicked in Tonight
  16. Although the Sun Is Shining
  17. Showbiz Blues

Disc 2

  1. Underway
  2. The Madge Sessions, No. 1
  3. The Madge Sessions, No. 2
  4. (That's What) I Want To Know
  5. Oh Well
  6. Love It Seems
  7. Mighty Cold
  8. Fast Talking Woman Blues
  9. Tell Me From The Start
  10. October Jam, Pt. 1
  11. October Jam, Pt. 2
  12. The Green Manalishi (With the Two Prong Crown)
  13. World in Harmony
  14. Farewell

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Vaudeville Years of Fleetwood Mac: 1968 to 1970 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Before Mick Fleetwood and John MacVie got run through with "Rumours" mill by Buckingham/Nicks, they were the greatest boogie band of all time. I really can't say enough nice things about the "original" Mac lineup: Three hot guitars and a rhythm section so regular that it would impress a metronome. Though the songs are at first blush electric re-workings of Delta classics, there is enough fire and invention here that even the oldest blues chestnuts take on the feel and fire of original work. These guys MEANT it. Though there is no period at which Mac hasn't provided original, intelligent music, this was their absolute finest hour. If you can get behind big, solid, stomping electric blues, this (or any other Peter Green-era) Fleetwood Mac album is exactly what you want. In fact, if you consider yourself a fan of traditional boogie, this might just turn into your favorite album.