There Is a Season

There Is a Season

by Vern Gosdin


$10.12 $11.99 Save 16% Current price is $10.12, Original price is $11.99. You Save 16%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, September 20


Now here's an oddity if there ever was one, but it also proves that Vern Gosdin is capable of anything if he sets his mind to it. There Is a Season is a direct quote from the Byrds' version of Pete Seeger's "Turn, Turn, Turn," which is also the first track on the album. In addition, there is a familiar 12-string and vocal on the set that belongs to none other than Roger McGuinn. Issued on the short-lived Compleat [sic] label, which was distributed by Polygram, the set dates from 1984, when country music was looking for itself again after the fade of the outlaws and just before Dwight Yoakam changed everything again with his return to Bakersfield honky tonk. This is a curiosity in Gosdin's catalog in that it openly reveals his restlessness in seeking a new direction. Gosdin seemed to be revisiting many of the moments in his past rambling days from California to Chicago to Nash Vegas to Texas, from street to honky tonk to concert hall and recording studio. He is accompanied by Emmylou Harris in a very prominent backing-vocalist role. Gosdin takes "Turn, Turn, Turn" and transforms it into a song that looks forward; it doesn't sit in the present tense, a reflection on the changing nature of the times. But in tracks like "How Can I Believe You (When You'll Be Leavin' Me)," Jim Rushing's "Slow Healing Heart," and Hank Cochran and Dean Dillon's "What Would Your Memories Do," Gosdin reaches deep into that golden throat of his to pull out every conflicting emotion that presents itself in the lyrics. Whether it is a ballad or a honky tonk waltz or a pop song, Gosdin holds them all in equanimity and delivers them as if they are the only songs in the world. In addition to his literally stunning performances here, Gosdin co-wrote over half of the record, making it one of his most inspired efforts.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/05/2003
Label: Music Mill
UPC: 0789505770921
catalogNumber: 57709
Rank: 43717

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Vern Gosdin   Primary Artist,Guitar,Vocals
Emmylou Harris   Vocals,Track Performer,Guest Appearance
Gary Prim   Keyboards
Chip Young   Rhythm Guitar
Sonny Garrish   Steel Guitar
Rob Hajacos   Fiddle
Mitch Humphries   Keyboards
Jerry Kroon   Drums
Roger McGuinn   Vocals,12-string Guitar,Guitar (Rickenbacker),Guest Appearance
Terry McMillan   Harmonica,Percussion
Nashville String Machine   Strings
Fred Newell   Guitar
Larry Paxton   Bass Guitar
Brent Rowan   Guitar,12-string Guitar

Technical Credits

Vern Gosdin   Composer
Pete Seeger   Composer
Max D. Barnes   Composer
Deborah Allen   Composer
Blake Mevis   Producer
Alan Moore   String Arrangements
Curly Putman   Composer
Rafe Van Hoy   Composer
Robert K. Oermann   Liner Notes
Alan Messer   Art Direction
Mark Humphrey   Quotes Researched & Compiled
Traditional   Composer
Bill Harris Quintet   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews