This Is M.E.

This Is M.E.

by Melissa Etheridge


$12.23 $13.99 Save 13% Current price is $12.23, Original price is $13.99. You Save 13%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24


Punning title aside, This Is M.E. doesn't necessarily play like an affirmation of Melissa Etheridge's core strengths. Rather, this 2014 album -- her 12th studio set -- finds the veteran singer/songwriter stretching her legs, trying a lot of different sounds, all with the assistance of a diverse cast of collaborators. While Jerrod Bettis, a writer who previously worked with Adele and Gavin DeGraw, might seem like an easy fit, the big surprise is that Etheridge chooses to work with several R&B producers and songwriters, including Roccstar, Jon Levine, and Jerry Wonder. The difference is immediately apparent from the beginning of This Is M.E., as it opens with the wall of sound of "I Won't Be Alone Tonight," a surging piece of AAA pop that does play a bit like Adele spliced with Roccstar. This isn't the only tactic she takes on the album -- "Monster" is a bit of thick, swampy rock & roll that offers a welcome jolt of grit halfway through the album -- but it does indicate that This Is M.E. belongs to the small group of Etheridge albums emphasizing arena rock over roots rock. It's livelier than the often torpid 2010 effort Fearless Love but its variety can lead to the occasional pitfall, including cuts that push the R&B angle a little too hard and songs that find her chasing after the big-footed stomp of Mumford & Sons. Nevertheless, there's something appealing in hearing Etheridge try a number of new sounds: not everything fits but the restlessness is admirable.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/30/2014
Label: Mle Music Inc
UPC: 0856817002634
catalogNumber: 700263
Rank: 78343

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Melissa Etheridge   Primary Artist,Guitar,Harmonica,Piano,Vocals
Bernard Grobman   Guitar,Steel Guitar
Jon Levine   Organ,Bass,Piano,Glockenspiel,Keyboards
Randy Cooke   Drums
Angela Hunt   Vocals
Angela Hunte   Vocals
Natalie Walker   Vocals
Jonathan Li   Voices
Farrah "Fendi" Fleurimond   Vocals
MBF   Voices
Jerrod Bettis   Bass
M B F   Voices
Jon Levin   Organ,Piano,Keyboards
Melissa Papp   Voices
Amritha Vaz   Strings
Neyla Pekarek   Cello,Vocals
Jon Sosin   Banjo,Ukulele
Bruce Crews   Voices
Jamale Hopkins   Percussion,Drums
Roccstar   Guitar
Brie Biblow   Voices
Natalie Loren Walker   Vocals

Technical Credits

Melissa Etheridge   Composer,Executive Producer
Jon Levine   Composer,Producer
Jerry "Wonda" Duplessis   Composer,Producer
Josh Grabelle   Artwork
J.J. Blair   Engineer
Arden Altino   Composer
Angela Hunte   Composer
Sergio "Sergical" Tsai   Engineer
Nick Radovanovic   Associate Remixing Engineer
Arden "Keyz" Altino   Producer
Daniel Piscina   Engineer
Christian Seibert   Composer
Josh Gwilliam   Engineer
Andrew Robertson   Engineer
Jerrod Bettis   Composer,Producer
Lance Powell   Engineer
Todd Hurtt   Engineer
Roccstar   Composer,Producer
Ralph Rhim   Engineer
Noah Diamond   Composer
Kelsey Eckstein   Composer
Ralph Phim   Engineer
Marcel Pariseau   Public Relations

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

This is ME 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome!  Lyrics are true Melissa!  Just saw her live performance where she ROCKED almost every song from this album!
ltw More than 1 year ago
Her best work since "Skin"