Through the Years: A Retrospective

Through the Years: A Retrospective

by Kenny Rogers



Through the Years: A Retrospective doesn't take its duties lightly -- it truly does attempt to present a full portrait of Kenny Rogers, from struggling musician to bona fide superstar. Helpfully, it breaks down his career into four easily digestible discs, containing 20 tracks each. The first disc is dubbed "The Vintage Years" and it doesn't just feature songs from the First Edition -- it contains revelatory material from his early groups the Scholars, the Bobby Doyle Three, and the Kirby Stone Four. The second disc is what most casual fans will treasure -- an entire disc devoted to "The Number One Hits." The third disc rounds up various singles, album tracks, and duets Rogers recorded during his late-'70s and early-'80s peak. Which, of course, leaves the fourth disc like any other final disc in a box set -- a collection of highlights from the years when the artist faded away from the spotlight. Certainly, this results in a thorough and accurate overview of his career, but that doesn't mean it's entirely listenable. Yes, hardcore fans and collectors will be interested in the first disc, but for many listeners, only the First Edition tracks will be noteworthy. Similarly, the final disc is extraneous for most tastes, leaving this little more than a very good two-disc summary of Rogers' hitmaking years. Naturally, single- and double-disc retrospectives of the hits are available elsewhere, for less money and without two extra discs, and that's what most fans will want. Nevertheless, anyone wanting a thorough summary of Rogers' entire career can't go wrong with Through the Years.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/26/1999
Label: Capitol
UPC: 0724383318322
catalogNumber: 33183


Disc 1

  1. The Poor Little Doggie
  2. Beloved
  3. That Crazy Feeling
  4. We'll Always Have Each Other
  5. For You Alone
  6. I've Got A Lot To Learn
  7. Jolé Blon
  8. Lonely
  9. Don't Feel Rained On
  10. Fly Me to the Moon
  11. My Mammy
  12. Here's That Rainy Day
  13. Just Dropped In (To See What Condition My Condition Was In)
  14. But You Know I Love You
  15. Ruby, Don't Take Your Love To Town
  16. Reuben James
  17. Something's Burning
  18. Tell It All Brother
  19. Someone Who Cares
  20. Today I Started Loving You Again

Disc 2

  1. Lucille
  2. Daytime Friends
  3. Love Or Something Like It
  4. The Gambler
  5. Every Time Two Fools Collide
  6. She Believes In Me
  7. You Decorated My Life
  8. Coward Of The County
  9. All I Ever Need Is You
  10. Lady
  11. What Are We Doin' in Love?
  12. I Don't Need You
  13. Love Will Turn You Around
  14. We've Got Tonight
  15. Islands in the Stream
  16. Crazy
  17. Real Love
  18. Morning Desire
  19. Tomb Of The Unknown Love
  20. Make No Mistake, She's Mine

Disc 3

  1. Love Lifted Me
  2. Laura (What's He Got That I Ain't Got)
  3. While the Feeling's Good
  4. Sweet Music Man
  5. Anyone Who Isn't Me Tonight
  6. 'Til I Can Make It on My Own
  7. Don't Fall In Love With A Dreamer
  8. Love the World Away
  9. Share Your Love With Me
  10. Blaze of Glory
  11. Through the Years
  12. Love Song
  13. All My Life
  14. Scarlet Fever
  15. You Were a Good Friend
  16. Buried Treasure
  17. The Greatest Gift of All
  18. Together Again
  19. What About Me?
  20. Eyes That See In The Dark

Disc 4

  1. This Woman
  2. Evening Star
  3. Twentieth Century Fool
  4. Love Is What We Make It
  5. Twenty Years Ago
  6. They Don't Make Them Like They Used To
  7. The Pride Is Back
  8. Goodbye Marie
  9. I Prefer the Moonlight
  10. The Factory
  11. When You Put Your Heart in It
  12. Planet Texas
  13. If I Ever Fall in Love Again
  14. The Vows Go Unbroken (Always True To You)
  15. Maybe
  16. Love Is Strange
  17. If You Want to Find Love
  18. Have I Told You Lately That I Love You
  19. Unforgettable
  20. Write Your Name (Across My Heart)

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Kenny Rogers   Primary Artist
Holly Dunn   Track Performer
Ronnie Milsap   Track Performer
Anne Murray   Track Performer
Dolly Parton   Track Performer
Dottie West   Track Performer
Kim Carnes   Track Performer
Sheena Easton   Track Performer
James Ingram   Track Performer
Kenny Rogers & the First Edition   Track Performer

Technical Credits

Skip Ewing   Composer
Mel McDaniel   Composer
Mickey Newbury   Composer
Kim Carnes   Composer
Max D. Barnes   Composer
Randy VanWarmer   Composer
Barry Gibb   Composer
Bob Morrison   Composer
Dave Ellingson   Composer
Maurice Gibb   Composer
Tony Harrell   Composer
Kenny Rogers   Composer
Jim Mazza   Executive Producer
Bud McGuire   Composer
Bob Seger   Composer
Ben Peters   Composer
Gabrielle Raumberger   Artwork
Lisa Reddick   Producer
Don Schlitz   Composer
Scotty Wiseman   Composer
Kev McGuire   Composer
J. Wilson   Composer
Tammy Kizer   Producer
James Hunter   Liner Notes
Bart Howard   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews