Thy Kingdom Come

Thy Kingdom Come

by CeCe Winans



CeCe Winans' seductive gaze in the album cover of her eighth album, Thy Kingdom Come, doesn't exactly scream "church," but the album is one of the churchiest the singer has released yet. While it left no doubts about her faith, her previous release, 2005's Purified, was squarely aimed at the pop and urban markets, both in style and in message. In contrast, Thy Kingdom Come sees Winans doing justice to her family name and singing almost exclusively for the saints -- songs of praise, songs of encouragement, songs of worship, songs of inspiration. But the fact that this is an album for the church doesn't mean it sounds like Sunday morning. Winans does appear to be leading others to the throne in the congregational number "Forever," but she ultimately sticks to her pop singer persona -- the same populist, non-melismatic songbird she's been since her days as part of BeBe & CeCe. As is expected of Winans, the songs are expertly produced, the ballads are beautifully orchestrated, the urban pieces are as urban as Whitney in her prime. In other words, Thy Kingdom Come is precisely what a CeCe album should sound like, which isn't to say she's settling for the middle road; instead, she's giving her Christian fan base what they've come to expect from her in the past, namely, solid, Scripture-centered urban pop meditations -- nothing too gospelized, but hip enough to be bumped in the car or the iPod, yet sufficiently churchy to be enjoyed in-between services at your local congregation.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/01/2008
Label: Emi Gospel
UPC: 0726838496623
catalogNumber: 84966

Album Credits

Performance Credits

CeCe Winans   Primary Artist
Eric Darken   Percussion,Orchestral Percussion
Javier Solís   Percussion
Mark Baldwin   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Percy Bady   Keyboards
Lori Brooks   Vocals
Shane Keister   Synthesizer Pads
Ellen Dockery   Vocals
Shannon Forrest   Drums
Richard Gibbs   Hammond Organ
Tom Hemby   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Tom Howard   Conductor
David Huntsinger   Piano
Shelley Jennings   Vocals
Viktor Krauss   Acoustic Bass
Aaron Lindsey   Piano
Nashville String Machine   Strings,Horn,Performing Ensemble,Track Performer
Tommy Sims   Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Keyboards
Nancy Allen   Vocals
Tim Akers   Piano,Keyboards
Alvin Love   Background Vocals
Dan Needham   Drums
Peter Penrose   Background Vocals
Reggie Smith   Vocals
Willis   Guitar
Faith Howard   Background Vocals
Maurice Fitzgerald   Bass
Lori Casteel   Vocals
Sarah Valley   Vocals
Rick Watford   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Jerard Woods   Vocals,Background Vocals
Andy Selby   Synthesizer,Harpsichord,Hand Clapping,Timpani,African Percussion
Darwin Hobbs   Vocals
Andrea Moore   Background Vocals
Akil Thompson   Electric Guitar
Latrice Pace   Vocals
Kirk Kirkland   Vocals
Melinda Doolittle   Background Vocals
Ladye Love Smith   Vocals
Jason Eskridge   Background Vocals
Shane McConnell   Vocals
Luther "Mano" Hanes   Piano,Keyboards,fender rhodes,Wurlitzer
John Brockman   Vocals
Jovaun Woods   Vocals
Rodney East   Piano
Dwan Hill   Piano
Julie Cox   Vocals
Kimberly Mont   Background Vocals
Debbie Selby   Background Vocals
Nickie Conley   Background Vocals
Benita Washington   Background Vocals
Chris Roberts   Vocals
Jamie Fraley   Background Vocals
Christine Richardson   Background Vocals
Seth Ready   Background Vocals
Jocelyn Brockman   Vocals
Calvin Nowell   Background Vocals
Jonathan Johnson   Background Vocals
Missi Hale   Background Vocals
Calvin Rogers   Drums
Molley Moody   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Danny Duncan   Engineer
Percy Bady   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer
Lloyd Barry   Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements,drum programming,Orchestral Arrangements,Horn Conductor
Don Hart   Orchestral Arrangements
Tom Howard   String Arrangements,Orchestral Arrangements,Choir Arrangement
Steve Patrick   Horn Conductor
Tommy Sims   Arranger,Composer,Programming,Producer,Vocal Arrangements,rhythm arrangement,Audio Production,Choir Arrangement
Bill Whittington   Engineer
CeCe Winans   Composer
Alvin Love   Composer,Producer
Karen Philpott   Art Direction
Lauren Hoffman   Contributor
Lori Casteel   Choir Contractor
Rick Watford   Engineer
Roy Agee   Horn Conductor
Darwin Hobbs   Choir Contractor
Grant Greene   Engineer
Demetrus Alexander Stewart   Executive Producer
Jennifer Kummer   Horn Conductor
Luther "Mano" Hanes   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Beth Beeson   Horn Conductor
Jimmy Bowland   Horn Conductor
Chris Yoakum   Engineer
Tobey Betthauser   Engineer
JD Shuff   Engineer
Anthony Skinner   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews