by Rae Morris


$18.99 $19.99 Save 5% Current price is $18.99, Original price is $19.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, October 28


The debut, full-length solo album from British chanteuse Rae Morris, 2015's Unguarded provides a great showcase for the Lancashire-born artist's absorbing, hypnotic pop. The album comes on the heels of a string of successful EPs from Morris, who was signed to Atlantic at the young age of 17 in 2011. Despite her youth, Morris made the most of her early career boost, playing shows in London, developing her songwriting skills with singer/songwriter Karima Francis, and touring and recording with Bombay Bicycle Club for their expansive 2014 album So Long, See You Tomorrow -- all of which she brings to bear on the superb Unguarded. A well-curated assemblage of songs, some of which she wrote at 17 and produced with electronic pop mastermind Fryars (Lily Allen), and others she wrote more recently and recorded with Ariel Rechtshaid (Haim, Charlie XCX) in Los Angeles, Unguarded is a sophisticated debut, steeped in a chilly, if still insulated atmosphere that strongly evokes '80s-era Kate Bush. Morris earns such prestigious comparisons through her entrancing vocal prowess and offertory knack for writing catchy, eloquent songs that envelope you more and more with each listen. Cuts like "Under the Shadows," which intentionally lifts the groove from Bush's "Running Up That Hill," the sultry "Closer," and the Fryars duet "Cold," are infectious earworms that wouldn't sound out of place next to songs by artists like Peter Gabriel and Sarah McLachlan, just as they complement the work of such similarly inclined contemporaries as Gotye and Sia.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/03/2015
Label: Imports
UPC: 0825646227990
catalogNumber: 5005944
Rank: 131435

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Rae Morris   Primary Artist,Piano,Keyboards,Vocals
Hal Cragin   Upright Bass
Greg Leisz   Pedal Steel Guitar
Jamie Muhoberac   Keyboards
Pino Palladino   Bass Guitar
Ariel Rechtshaid   Synthesizer,Percussion,Keyboards,keyboard bass
Benji Lysaght   Guitar
Jimi Hey   Percussion,Drums
David Moyer   Baritone Saxophone
Nico Muhly   Piano,Celeste,Keyboards,Marimbas,Noise,Vibes
Chris Dave   Percussion,Drums
Garrett Ray   Percussion,Drums
FrYars   Keyboards,Vocals
Nick Rowe   Bass

Technical Credits

Dan Wilson   Composer
Ariel Rechtshaid   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer,drum programming
Dan Carey   Composer
Nico Muhly   String Arrangements
Mocky   Composer
Kid Harpoon   Composer
FrYars   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer,Additional Production
Jim Eliot   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Nick Rowe   Engineer
Dave Schiffman   Engineer
Rae Morris   Composer,Programming
Hugh Worskett   Engineer
Simon Robbs   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews