Uno No Es Uno

Uno No Es Uno

by Noel Schajris


Uno No Es Uno is Noel Schajris' first full-length solo album effort after he and fellow singer/songwriter Leonel García concluded their partnership as Sin Bandera in 2007. The Latin pop duo experienced tremendous success prior to their breakup, releasing the albums Sin Bandera (2001), De Viaje (2003), Mañana (2005), and Pasado (2006), and scoring nearly a dozen Top Ten hits on the Mexican charts, including a half-dozen number one smash hits. In addition to Sin Bandera, Schajris wrote songs for numerous Latin pop superstars, among them Alejandro Fernández, Luis Fonsi, Paulina Rubio, Jessy & Joy, Reik, Victor Manuelle, Yuridia, and Fanny Lu. Embarking on a solo career as a singer/songwriter was therefore a logical step forward for Schajris, given his recognition was half of Sin Bandera's and his reputation as a first-rate songwriter. In fact, Schajris had been a solo recording artist prior to teaming up with García. He made his full-length solo debut back in 1999 with the little-heard album Cita en las Nubes. Released a decade later, Uno No Es Uno is a much more impressive album, a collaborative effort featuring elite Latin pop producer Sebastián Krys; co-songwriters Claudia Brant and Gian Marco; and guest turns by vocalists Yuridia ("Nadie Me Hace Mas Feliz Que Tu"), John Legend ("No Importa"), and Luis Fonsi ("Aunque Duela Aceptarlo"). There aren't many surprises here for anyone already familiar with Sin Bandera. The songs are emotional and generally in ballad form with sweeping choruses and often trembling vocals. The piano playing of Schajris and subtle string arrangements are the predominant musical elements, and with the absence of García, there isn't as much guitar as there was in Sin Bandera. Highlights include the excellent lead single, "No Veo La Hora," along with a couple of the duets ("No Importa," "Aunque Duela Aceptarlo"), which are sequenced in a mid-album bunch. Uno No Es Uno drags a little bit toward the end, once the duets and the uptempo song "Gracias por Entrar" pass, yet the album is solid overall and should delight fans of Sin Bandera.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/13/2009
Label: Sony U.S. Latin
UPC: 0886975830923
catalogNumber: 758309

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Noel Schajris   Primary Artist,Piano,Celeste,Vocals,Didjeridu,Mellotron,fender rhodes
Nathan East   Bajo Sexto
Lee Levin   Bateria
Jaques Morelenbaum   Cello
Rafael Padilla   Percussion
Tim Pierce   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Ramon Stagnaro   Guitar (Nylon String)
Aleks Syntek   Hammond Organ
Sebastián Krys   Keyboards,Hammond Organ,Didjeridu,Mezcla,Hammond B3
Jerry Marrotta   Bateria
Walter Afanasieff   Piano,Hammond Organ,Didjeridu
Gian Marco   Background Vocals
Flavio Geraldini   Violin
Davi Graton   Violin
Marcelo Jaffé   Viola
Roberto Suetholz   Cello
Sergio Vallin   Electric Guitar
Hector del Curto   Bandoneon
Conesha Monet   Coros
Pedro Alfonso   Violin
Nelson Antonio S. Rios   Violin
John Legend   Vocals
Andrea Campos   Violin
Mabvuto Carpenter   Coros

Technical Credits

Claudia Brant   Composer
Sebastián Krys   Programming,Engineer
Walter Afanasieff   Composer,Programming
Gian Marco   Composer
David Channing   Engineering
Kevin Guarnieri   Engineering
Noel Schajris   Composer
Victor Pozas   Direction
Andres Saavedra   Engineer
Orlando Vitto   Engineer
John Legend   Composer
Fabrício Matos   Engineer
Alex Venguer   Engineer
Tyler Gordon   Programming
Daniel Sálvia   Engineer
Pedro Capó   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews