Verve Jazz Masters 53: Bossa Nova

Verve Jazz Masters 53: Bossa Nova

by Stan Getz


$11.47 $11.99 Save 4% Current price is $11.47, Original price is $11.99. You Save 4%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, September 24


As an entryway into Stan Getz's mid-'60s bossa nova output, this is neither as comprehensive as the four-CD set The Bossa Nova Years, nor as satisfying as the original albums in terms of sequencing and mood. It is, however, acceptable as a sampler to the newcomer, who in any event can re-program the order by grouping together the tracks from each session. All of the five albums contained in the box set are touched upon here, along with one that wasn't, Sweet Rain, which yields an impassioned "O Grande Amor" with Chick Corea on piano. In regard to the two best-known tunes from Getz's bossa nova days, "Desafinado" and "The Girl from Ipanema," Verve chooses to go with alternate versions rather than reissue the hit versions for the 437th time -- which is good.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/19/1996
Label: Polygram Records
UPC: 0731452990426
catalogNumber: 529904
Rank: 137914

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Stan Getz   Primary Artist,Tenor Saxophone
Luiz Bonfá   Guitar
Laurindo Almeida   Guitar
Bob Brookmeyer   Valve Trombone
Gary Burton   Vibes
Charlie Byrd   Guitar
Ron Carter   Bass
Astrud Gilberto   Vocals
João Gilberto   Guitar,Vocals
Jim Hall   Guitar
Hank Jones   Piano
Steve Kuhn   Piano
Dave Bailey   Bass
Willie Dennis   Trombone
Grady Tate   Drums
Nick Travis   Trumpet
George Duvivier   Bass
Johnny Rae   Drums
Ray Alonge   Flugelhorn
Milton Banana   Drums
Raymond Beckenstein   Clarinet,Flute
Keter Betts   Bass
Kenny Burrell   Guitar
Eddie Caine   Alto Flute
Gene Cherico   Bass
Clark Terry   Flugelhorn
Babe Clarke   Clarinet
Armando Anthony Corea   Piano
Carmen Costa   Cabasa
Buddy Deppenschmidt   Drums
Joe Ferrante   Trumpet
Gary McFarland   Conductor
Bernie Glow   Trumpet
Antonio Carlos Jobim   Piano
Walter Levinsky   Clarinet
Edison Machado   Drums
Hélcio Milito   Drums
Jose Paulo   Percussion,Tambourine
Don Payne   Bass
Romeo Penque   Bass Clarinet
Doc Severinsen   Trumpet
Jose Soorez   Percussion
Tony Studd   Bass Trombone
Jose (Bigorna) Carlos   Percussion
Joe Hunt   Drums
Gene Byrd   Bass,Guitar
Tommy Williams   Bass
Paulo Ferreira   Drums
Maria Toledo   Vocals
Luiz Pargo   Percussion
Jerry Sandino   Flute
Bill Reichenbach   Drums

Technical Credits

Laurindo Almeida   Composer
Dori Caymmi   Composer
Vinícius de Moraes   Composer
Gary McFarland   Arranger,Contributor
Norman Gimbel   Composer
Antonio Carlos Jobim   Composer
Creed Taylor   Producer,Engineer
Bob Blumenthal   Liner Notes
Sheryl Lutz-Brown   Director,Art Direction
Luis Antonio   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews