When the Good Guys Win

When the Good Guys Win

by Granger Smith


$13.23 $13.99 Save 5% Current price is $13.23, Original price is $13.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, July 29


When the Good Guys Win isn't billed as an explicit sequel to Remington, Granger Smith's 2016 major-label debut, but that's effectively what it is. Cut from the same sunny cloth as its predecessor, When the Good Guys Win feels like a throwback to country at the dawn of the 21st century: It's melodic and sweet with hints of arena rock, but not too much volume or rhythm. Even when he makes a slight feint toward the R&B sounds that dominate modern country-pop, Smith winds up steering himself back to an anthemic center. He is so inherently nice that his pro-second amendment redneck rallying cry "Don't Tread on Me" feels like it's delivered with a smile. Nevertheless, "Don't Tread on Me" is the most interesting thing on When the Good Guys Win, not least because it also features an appearance by his good old boy alter ego Earl Dibbles, Jr. -- it's unclear whether this is intended as a full-blown Earl Dibbles, Jr. track, and it's difficult to discern the vocal differences between the two -- because it's the only time that Smith doesn't sound like Kenny Chesney with no interest in visiting a beach. Such pleasantries make for a pleasant album, albeit one that tends to fade into the background.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/27/2017
Label: Wheelhouse Records
UPC: 0190296960314
catalogNumber: 96031
Rank: 49456

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Granger Smith   Primary Artist
Gordon Mote   Piano
Derek Wells   Bass,Dobro,Electric Guitar
Bryan Sutton   Acoustic Guitar,Banjo
Jerry Roe   Drums
Rachel Loy   Bass
Kris Donegan   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Jordan Schmidt   Electric Guitar
Amber Smith   Background Vocals
Jason Kyle Saetveit   Background Vocals
Mike Johnson   Dobro
Dave Cohen   Synthesizer,Piano,Hammond B3
Carl Miner   Acoustic Guitar,Banjo,Mandolin
Lincoln Smith   Vocals

Technical Credits

Tommy Cecil   Composer
Robert Ray   Producer
Derek Wells   Producer
Mark Nesler   Composer
Deric Ruttan   Composer
Justin Adams   Composer
Frank Rogers   Composer,Producer
Jordan Schmidt   Composer
Granger Smith   Composer,Producer
Jonathan Singleton   Composer
Ben Hayslip   Composer
Jamie Paulin   Composer
Jay Brunswick   Composer
Jared Mullins   Composer
Jaron Boyer   Composer
Justin Wilson   Composer
Tyler Hubbard   Composer
Earl Dibbles   Composer,Producer
Matt Alderman   Composer
Austin Outlaw   Composer,Producer
Josh Mirenda   Composer
Seth Ennis   Composer
Andrew Albert   Composer
Ty Graham   Composer
Jaida Dryer   Composer
Mike Florentino   Composer
Chris Gainz   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews