With the Tenors of Our Time

With the Tenors of Our Time

by Roy Hargrove Quintet



Trumpeter Roy Hargrove has the opportunity of a lifetime on this recording, sharing separate songs with five great tenors: Johnny Griffin, Joe Henderson, Branford Marsalis, Joshua Redman, and Stanley Turrentine. Everyone fares well, including Hargrove's group (Ron Blake on tenor and soprano, pianist Cyrus Chestnut, bassist Rodney Whitaker, and drummer Gregory Hutchinson). The young trumpeter (who is vying for Lee Morgan's unoccupied chair) keeps up with the saxophonists on this generally relaxed affair; recommended for hard bop fans.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/17/1994
Label: Polygram Records
UPC: 0731452301925
catalogNumber: 523019

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Roy Hargrove Quintet   Primary Artist
Johnny Griffin   Tenor Saxophone
Roy Hargrove   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Joe Henderson   Tenor Saxophone
Stanley Turrentine   Tenor Saxophone
Joshua Redman   Tenor Saxophone
Ron Blake   Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Cyrus Chestnut   Piano
Gregory Hutchinson   Drums
Branford Marsalis   Tenor Saxophone
Rodney Whitaker   Bass

Technical Credits

Roy Hargrove   Producer
Larry Clothier   Producer,Engineer
Ed Rak   Engineer
Richard Seidel   Executive Producer
David Lau   Art Direction
Jimmy Katz   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews