Women Champions of Human Rights: Eleven U.S. Leaders of the Twentieth Century

Women Champions of Human Rights: Eleven U.S. Leaders of the Twentieth Century

by Moira Davison Reynolds


View All Available Formats & Editions


Intended for the general reader with an interest in American history, this book profiles eleven women who made enduring contributions to society: Jane Addams, Fannie Farmer, Lillian Wald, Mary McLeod Bethune, Juliette Low, Margaret Sanger, Carrie Chapman Catt, Margaret Mitchell, Margaret Bourke-White, Rachel Carson and Betty Friedan. Intertwined with their lives are the issues of immigration, health care, reproductive rights, the environment and women’s rights.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780786476138
Publisher: McFarland & Company, Incorporated Publishers
Publication date: 04/26/2013
Pages: 167
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 8.90(h) x 0.50(d)
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

The late Moira Davison Reynolds, a retired biochemist, wrote about women who made significant contributions to United States culture, including several books about activists, artists, authors and scientists. She lived in Marquette, Michigan.

Table of Contents

Illustrations vi

Preface and Acknowledgments vii

Introduction xi

Jane Addams 1

Fannie Farmer 16

Lillian D. Wald 26

Mary McLeod Bethune 40

Juliette Gordon Low 54

Margaret Sanger 67

Carrie Chapman Catt 85

Margaret Mitchell 97

Margaret Bourke-White 110

Rachel Carson 123

Betty Friedan 134

Epilogue 145

Selected Bibliography 148

Index 155

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews