Wonderland

Wonderland

by Jennifer Hillier

NOOK Book(eBook)

$7.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

“Top of the line thriller writing…You better call in sick, because you’re not going anywhere until you finish reading it. Oh, and you might want to lock the door, too. Just to be safe.” —#1 bestselling author Jeffery Deaver

Fans of Chelsea Cain and Lisa Gardner will devour this edgy thriller about the gruesome secrets hidden beneath a small-town amusement park. From the author of Creep, Freak, and The Butcher, Jennifer Hillier’s “fine knack for creating hideous killers” (Booklist) is vividly on display.

Welcome to Wonderland. By day, it’s a magical place boasting a certain retro charm. Excited children, hands sticky with cotton candy, run frenetically from the Giant Octopus ride to the Spinning Sombrero, while the tinkling carnival music of the giant Wonder Wheel—the oldest Ferris wheel in the Pacific Northwest—fills the air. But before daybreak, an eerie feeling descends. Maybe it’s the Clown Museum, home to creepy wax replicas of movie stars and a massive collection of antique porcelain dolls. Or maybe it’s the terrifyingly real House of Horrors. Or…maybe it’s the dead, decaying body left in the midway for all the Wonder Workers to see.

Vanessa Castro’s first day as deputy police chief of Seaside, Washington, is off to a bang. The unidentifiable homeless man rotting inside the tiny town’s main tourist attraction is strange enough, but now a teenage employee—whose defiant picture at the top of the Wonder Wheel went viral that same morning—is missing. As the clues in those seemingly disparate crimes lead her down a mysterious shared path of missing persons that goes back decades, she suspects the seedy rumors surrounding the amusement park’s dark history might just be true. She moved to Seaside to escape her own scandalous past, but has she brought her family to the center of an insidious killer’s twisted game? Acclaimed author Jennifer Hillier’s bone-chilling thriller is masterful and fast-paced, hurtling toward a shocking, bloody conclusion.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781501115189
Publisher: Pocket Star
Publication date: 10/05/2015
Sold by: SIMON & SCHUSTER
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 432
Sales rank: 74,925
File size: 3 MB

About the Author

Jennifer Hillier is the author of Wonderland, Creep, Freak, and The Butcher. Born and raised in Toronto, Canada, she lives in the Seattle area with her husband and son. Visit her on the web at JenniferHillier.ca.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Wonderland 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a must read for all who enjoy thrillers, with a twist or two of down right creepy! Having read all she has written, she just gets better with each book! Highly recommend! Warning: Once you start be prepared to lose sleep, till the last page is turned!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I did like this one...it wasnt gory enough or thrilling like the others...I did like the main character Vanessa, I hope she shows up in more books..easy quick read..
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm hooked to your books I was so excited for this one and you didn't disappoint!! Must read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I actually pre-ordered this, based on how much I have enjoyed all of Jennifer Hillier's books. Well developed characters (multi-faceted and realistic), great plot AND plot twists...I hope a sequel (or2) are being developed...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love jennifers books this was a great page turner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought I knew who the killer was but I was wrong, totally surprised me. Great book, I love the way she writes.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was interesting, and pretty well written. I do have some issues though. One thing that annoyed me was this book needs edited again. There were mistakes all throughout this book. I thought the characters were well developed, they all had demons, though at times it was like a soap opera. I felt the story was really well thought out and made since. I was completely surprised who the killer was. I also liked Mrs. Hilliers' writing style. There were a few things that bothered me. I don't like that someone in this cheats. There were also a few things that were said that were disturbing (if you read this you'll know what I mean). All in all this was pretty good, glad I picked it up.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Characters were very extra, a lot of plot twists were just thrown in with no lead up or explanations. Some just unnecessary and made the characters feel over stereotyped, like from tv, but in a bad way. The ending didn't fit in with the rest of the book, and didn't really make sense or get explained. Left a bad taste after I finished it.
Fredreeca2001 More than 1 year ago
Vanessa has new job as deputy chief of Seaside, Washington. A small, quiet town with an amusement park called Wonderland. Wonderland is not all it's cracked up to be. Vanessa realizes boys have been missing for years and the trail leads to Wonderland. This is a sneaky read. You know something is going on, but you are not quite sure what it is. You think you know who the culprit is, then it changes on you. I enjoy books like this and this one kept me entertained all the way through. Wonderland is an excellent setting for this story. The doll museum is creepy and the author did a great job with that eerie place!! I visualized all kinds of weird and disturbing dolls...keep you up at night creepy!! The characters absolutely make the book. There are quite a few "crazies" in this tale. And Vanessa is a strong, female lead...and I just love her. I really hope the author uses her in another book. If you need a mild to moderate creepy, psycho tale, this is the one for you. I received this novel from Simon and Schuster as XOXPERT
Deb-Krenzer More than 1 year ago
I was so surprised to see that this book was for sale on Amazon for $1.99 the other day. It had only been out for 10 days. I definitely had to look further into this. I love Jennifer Hillier, she has written some pretty creepy stuff. So naturally, I'm thinking this was a short story or a novella or something. It wasn't. So, now I am perplexed. Anyway, I liked the book a lot, but it didn't have her normal creepiness to it. I mean it was an entertaining and enjoyable story and I still did not guess "who did it". And the pages were turning pretty fast for me. And yes, I screamed at the daughter when she lied to her mom about where she was going to be. There was some creepiness in the middle and at the end, but not her typical creepiness. I'm chalking it up to the fact that she was carrying her first baby and didn't want those bad vibes to carry through. HA!! It's still a great book and I definitely would recommend it. Here's hoping the feeling I got from her acknowledgements does not come to fruition and that there are many more books to come!
surroundedbybooks More than 1 year ago
Vanessa Castro's first day as Seaside's deputy chief starts off less than wonderful in Jennifer Hillier's Wonderland when a dead body turns up at a local amusement park called Wonderland. Told from various view points, this novel amps up the tension as each person adds to the mystery and intrigue of the story. I didn't know quite who to suspect as the persons of interest list expanded. Seaside seems like one of those quaint little towns on the surface, but the crimes let the reader know no town--big or small--is safe. I rather enjoyed the creepy atmosphere of the park Wonderland, particularly on its Elm Street with the Clown Museum. The park itself became a character and a wonderful one at that. I was excited to see an old character from Hillier's other books appear in this one too. The tension increases to a killer ending. Wonderland by Jennifer Hillier kept me turning the pages and is a suspenseful read.
booklover- More than 1 year ago
This is not the first book I've read by this author. I immensely enjoyed CREEP and FREAK and had high hopes for this one. I was not disappointed. Wonderland is a huge amusement park set in a small Washington town. The park is the big tourist trap which keeps the city alive. Wonderland comes complete with The Clown Museum, The Doll House, and House of Horrors ... and today it comes with a decaying body left in the midway. Vanessa Castro 's first day as Deputy Police Chief starts off with a bang. The body is eventually identified as a young man who worked at Wonderland, but disappeared several years earlier. As her investigation progresses she finds there have been many young men who have disappeared over the years. They all were summer workers, they were all 18 years old, they were all tall and blonde There are all sorts of strange/weird people who make great persons of interest. There's a secretive janitor who follows Vanessa's daughter around while she's working at Wonderland. There's the CEO ... a female Don Juan who has slept with all the missing boys. Oz is the Vice President, looking to make a new start ... with Vanessa. All the characters come to life under the pen of Ms. Hillier. Descriptions of Wonderland were so vivid, I did a search to see if it was real. Plot is well written ... and the killer came as a surprise. There were several twists and turns that led me down the wrong path... as I'm sure the author intended. And I really liked the cover ... it gave my goosebumps goosebumps If you like murder mysteries, serial killers, you will like all of Jennifer Hillier's books. 4.5 STARS My thanks to NetGalley / Gallery, Threshold, Pocket Books / Pocket Star for an advanced copy in exchange for an honest review.