World Wide Funk

World Wide Funk

by Bootsy Collins


$8.50 $9.99 Save 15% Current price is $8.5, Original price is $9.99. You Save 15%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, August 22


A 70-minute album from Bootsy Collins in 2017 might seem superfluous, given the bassist's half-a-century of service and incontrovertible status as a crucial figure in the genesis and progression of funk. Better then to treat World Wide Funk less like an addition to an immense discography and more like a porta-party. That's not a tall order. As colorful as its packaging with high spirits to match, World Wide Funk is loaded with enough guests to pack the mothership, with late P-Funk associate Bernie Worrell, Stanley Clarke, Chuck D, Musiq Soulchild, and Kali Uchis a small representation of the cross-generational attendees. After some spoken mythology from Iggy Pop, the album kicks into gear with a go-go title track that somehow leaves enough space for Doug E. Fresh's jovial beat-boxing and rhymes, and Buckethead's characteristically flashy guitar solo. Apart from a handful of interspersed ballads -- one heartfelt, a couple on the sleazy side -- that high energy level is kept up throughout, with inspired playing from all of the involved across cuts that mostly bounce and sometimes glide across the dancefloor. A clever move among a few is the slight resemblance of slow jam "Worth My While" to "I'd Rather Be with You," the 1976 Bootsy hit that Childish Gambino referenced 40 years later for "Redbone," certified triple platinum just a month prior to this album's release. Even without that affirmation, it would be clear that Bootsy's relevance remains everlasting.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/27/2017
Label: Mascot
UPC: 0819873014751
catalogNumber: 75142
Rank: 8932

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Bootsy Collins   Primary Artist,Guitar,Percussion,Drums,Vocals
Eric Gales   Guitar
Dru Down   Vocals
John Blackwell   Drums
Chuck D   Vocals
Stanley Clarke   Bass
DJ Quik   Guitar,Keyboards
Randy Villars   Saxophone
Frankie "Kash" Waddy   Drums
Victor Wooten   Bass
C. Walker   Vocals
Henry Benefield   Vocals
MC Eiht   Vocals
J.D. Blair   Drums
Aaron Thompson   Vocals
Justin Johnson   Keyboards
Morris Mingo   Keyboards,Mini Moog
Adrian Crutchfield   Alto Saxophone
Michael Gatheright   Vocals
Joe Mass   Guitar,Soloist
Manou Gallo   Bass
April Showers   Vocals
Judge Reinhold   Vocals
Eric Cales   Guitar
Chew Fu   Keyboards,Saxophone
Justin Johnson   Guitar
Razzberry White   Vocals
Senri Kawaguchi   Drums
Gerald Cooper   Vocals
Noface   Keyboards
Tobe "Tobotius" Donohue   Drums
Kali Uchis   Guitar,Keyboards,Vocals
October London   Vocals
Siri Imani   Vocals
Nick Semrad   Piano
Tyshawn Colquitt   Vocals
Alissia Benveniste   Organ,Synthesizer,Bass,Guitar,Strings,Keyboards,Vocals
Bootzilla Baby   Space Bass

Technical Credits

Big Daddy Kane   Composer
Eric Gales   Composer
Bernie Worrell   Composer
Snoop Dogg   Composer,Producer
Dru Down   Composer
Bootsy Collins   Composer,Producer,Horn Arrangements,drum programming,Art Direction,beats,Analog Engineer
Chuck D   Composer
DJ Quik   Composer,Producer,drum programming
Doug E. Fresh   Composer
Randy Villars   Horn Arrangements
Frankie "Kash" Waddy   Composer
MC Eiht   Composer
Aaron Thompson   Composer
Musiq (Soulchild)   Composer
Justin Johnson   Composer
Toby Donohue   Composer
Bryon "Mr. Talkbox" Chambers   Composer
Morris Mingo   Composer
Oui Wey Collins   Producer
Francesco Zanotti   Cover Illustration
Chew Fu   Composer,Producer
Justin Johnson   Producer
Gerald Cooper   Composer
Tobe "Tobotius" Donohue   Engineer
Kali Uchis   Composer
October London   Composer
Siri Imani   Composer
Tyshawn Colquitt   Composer
Alissia Benveniste   Composer,Producer,drum programming
Marco Bortolino   Illustrations
Marcello Bortolino   Illustrations

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews