You Can't Do That on Stage Anymore, Vol. 6

You Can't Do That on Stage Anymore, Vol. 6

by Frank Zappa


The last volume of the series You Can't Do That on Stage Anymore is one of the strongest, especially for those who prefer Frank Zappa's sex-oriented songs. There is not much complex material or instrumental pieces in this collection, but catchy humorous songs abound, along with more of that stage craziness the series tried to capture. Live incarnations of Zappa's band from 1970 up to 1988 are represented (the original Mothers had a whole disc devoted to them on Vol. 5). Most of disc one revolves around sex, starting with "The M.O.I. Anti-Smut Loyalty Oath," where the 1970 Mothers solemnly swear not to show their private parts on stage. Disc two is more varied, but tracks like "Catholic Girls" and "Crew Slut" make it fit right in. "The Poodle Lecture" and "Lonely Person Devices" reveal important Conceptual Continuity Clues. The "Camarillo Brillo"/"Muffin Man" medley provides a highlight, as does the frantic rendition of "Dirty Love." Lisa Popeil, who sang the 1982 track "Teen-Age Prostitute," makes her only other Zappa-related appearance in "Lisa's Life Story." Most of all, the music from the movie 200 Motels -- still unavailable on CD when this album came out -- was given special attention. Even today, the renditions of "200 Motels Finale" and "Shove It Right In" stand out as important tracks. This volume is less focused on the die-hard fan craving rare material. It will appeal to a wider range of casual listeners, while portraying with much fidelity the atmosphere of Zappa's concerts.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/30/1995
Label: Zappa Records
UPC: 0014431057120
catalogNumber: 310571

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Frank Zappa   Primary Artist,Synthesizer,Guitar,Conductor,Vocals
Adrian Belew   Guitar,Vocals
Steve Vai   Guitar
George Duke   Keyboards
Bruce Fowler   Trombone
Jean-Luc Ponty   Violin
Ed Mann   Percussion,Marimbas,Background Vocals,electronic percussion
Chad Wackerman   Drums,electronic percussion
Jeff Simmons   Bass
Ike Willis   Guitar,Vocals
Aynsley Dunbar   Drums
Tom Fowler   Bass
Arthur Barrow   Bass
Terry Bozzio   Drums
Napoleon Murphy Brock   Saxophone,Vocals
Paul Carman   Alto Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone
Vinnie Colaiuta   Drums
Warren Cuccurullo   Guitar
Walt Fowler   Synthesizer,Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Bob Harris   Keyboards,Vocals
Ralph Humphrey   Drums
Howard Kaylan   Vocals
Mike Keneally   Synthesizer,Bass Guitar,Vocals
Tommy Mars   Keyboards
Kurt McGettrick   Contrabass Clarinet,Baritone Saxophone,Bass Saxophone
Patrick O'Hearn   Bass
Bianca Thornton   Keyboards,Vocals
Scott Thunes   Bass
Ian Underwood   Keyboards,Alto Saxophone
Mark Volman   Vocals
Denny Walley   Vocals,Slide Guitar
Ray White   Guitar,Vocals
Albert Wing   Tenor Saxophone
Allan Zavod   Keyboards
Patrick Wolfe   Keyboards
Peter Wolf   Keyboards

Technical Credits

Bob Stone   Engineer
George Douglas   Engineer
Frank Zappa   Composer,Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews