You've Got It Bad Girl

You've Got It Bad Girl

by Quincy Jones



Quincy Jones followed up Smackwater Jack and his supervision of Donny Hathaway's Come Back Charleston Blue soundtrack with this, a mixed bag that saw him inching a little closer toward the R&B-dominated approach that reached full stride on the following Body Heat and peaked commercially with The Dude. That said, the album's most notorious cut is "The Streetbeater" -- better known as the Sanford & Son theme, a novelty for most but also one of the greasiest, grimiest instrumental fusions of jazz and funk ever laid down -- while its second most noteworthy component is a drastic recasting of "Summer in the City," as heard in the Pharcyde's "Passin' Me By," where the frantic, bug-eyed energy of the Lovin' Spoonful original is turned into a magnetically lazy drift driven by Eddie Louis' organ, Dave Grusin's electric piano, and Valerie Simpson's voice. (Simpson gives the song a "Summertime"-like treatment.) Between that, the title song (a faithfully mellow version, with Jones' limited but subdued vocal lead), a medley of Aretha Franklin's "Daydreaming" and Ewan MacColl's "First Time Ever I Saw Your Face," and a light instrumental, roughly half the album is mood music, and it's offset with not just "The Streetbeater" but a large-scale take on "Manteca," a spooky-then-overstuffed "Superstition" (where the uncredited Billy Preston, Bill Withers, and Stevie Wonder are billed as "three beautiful brothers"), and the "Streetbeater" companion "Chump Change" (co-written with Bill Cosby). The best here can be had on comps, but the album is by no means disposable. [Given a straight reissue in early 2009 via Verve's Originals series.]

Product Details

Release Date: 01/27/2009
Label: Verve
UPC: 0602517910416
catalogNumber: 001237102

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Quincy Jones   Primary Artist,Trumpet,Conductor,Vocals,Soloist
Cat Anderson   Trumpet,Soloist
George Duke   Piano,Electric Piano,Soloist
Bob James   Piano,Keyboards
Hubert Laws   Flute,Soloist
Jerome Richardson   Soprano Saxophone
Chuck Rainey   Bass,Bass Guitar
Grady Tate   Drums
Ray Brown   Bass,Bass Guitar
Dennis Budimir   Guitar,Soprano Saxophone,Soloist
Dave Grusin   Piano,Keyboards,Electric Piano,Soloist
Milt Holland   Percussion
Carol Kaye   Bass,Bass Guitar
Eddie Louis   Organ,Soloist
Eddy Louiss   Organ
Valerie Simpson   Vocals,Soloist
Toots Thielemans   Guitar,Harmonica,Human Whistle,Soloist
Tom Morgan   Harmonica
Ernie Watts   Saxophone,Soloist,Electric Saxophone
Phil Woods   Alto Saxophone,Soloist
Bobbye Porter   Percussion
Quincy Duke   Vocals
Bob James & Creations   Keyboards
Tom Junior Morgan   Harmonica,Soloist

Technical Credits

Quincy Jones   Arranger,Producer,Audio Production
Ray Brown   Producer,Audio Production
Walter Fuller   Composer
Larry Levine   Engineer
Phil Ramone   Engineer
Yvonne Wright   Composer
Roland Young   Art Direction
Hollis King   Art Direction

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews